BEA Time

 

It’s that time of year.

The one I look forward to nearly as much as Christmas and far more than Untitled 0 00 32-12my birthday: The BookExpo of America at the Javits Center in New York City. Why do I love it so? From all over the world, readers, writers, bloggers, editors, agents, publishing and marketing staff come together for one purpose. To celebrate
books.

cpThe minute I enter the simmering bustle of the Javits Center, I feel electric. The excitement is palpable and infectious. All around me people are buzzing, but not about politics, work complaints, or the latest Justin Beiber scandal. No. They’re talking about literature. More than that, they’re bubbling over with enthusiasm about what is new and upcoming for established best-sellers and promising debut writers.

I’m thrilled to be a part of the major organ through which all books BookExpoAmerica1-e1394405038476flow. To join the streaming throng as I stroll down aisle after aisle of publishers. The fantastic book displays they’ve created do their job and I’m pulled in, time after time. Best of all, I can meet (if only for a minute) some of my favorite authors (fangirl!!) and snag the latest advanced reader copies from them. Score!

emery

Some of our cute new swag!

Most of all, I’m overwhelmed to meet fans, fellow authors, bloggers and editor friends whom I know so well online, yet only see once or twice a year! That is the ultimate treat. This year, I’ll be visiting with my Spencer Hill Press family and cheering on fellow authors as they sign their nalaovels. Additionally, my co-author Joanne Rock and I, will be autographing book #2 in our CAMP BOYFRIEND series, CAMP PAYBACK with the Romance Writers of America. I hope you’ll stop by and see us on Friday, May 30th from 9:00-10:00 a.m. at RWA booth #2551. Trust me. Seeing you will be the highlight of my conference 🙂

~Karen

This entry was posted in publishing and tagged , , by J.K. Rock. Bookmark the permalink.

About J.K. Rock

J.K. Rock is the pseudonym for YA writers-and sisters in law- Joanne and Karen Rock. Their debut book, CAMP BOYFRIEND is the first in a three-book series from Spencer Hill Contemporary. Don't miss their free bonus novellas including CAMP KISS and CAMP CHRISTMAS, available for download at http://spencerhillcontemporary.com/Downloads.html

One thought on “BEA Time

Leave a Reply

