I don’t wanna grow up!

When I saw this month’s topic was on funny books or books with humor incorporated somehow, I immediately forgot all the incredibly humorous books I’ve ever read. So, I’ve been systematically going through the files of my muddled brain trying to find something to write about (that’s actually worth reading).

Then I sat down to do a review of a children’s book with my daughters. I review the Clara's Crazy Curlsbook and they read it for their reading homework—a twofer. So what, right? Well, I’ve been doing this for the past few months. I’ve reviewed around a dozen books and I’ve laughed right along with my girls when we read them. There’s some funny stuff in children’s books!

So my short and sweet point is, stop and smell the little things (flowers, books, cartoons, whatever). I realized while I was agonizing over what to write for this article, that I sometimes overlook the child in me. I get too wrapped up in the “grown-up Michelle” that I forget it’s okay to let go and be silly sometimes.

Yes, I’ve read many, many young adult, new adult and adult books that have been funny and I’ve laughed out loud while reading them. And if I sat here long enough I’d remember some of the titles (maybe, brain cells are dying every day…). But I’ve had an incredible time reading some of the children’s books and letting my inner child come out to play and remembering how to laugh at the silly stuff.

Sometimes we need to slow down and see the world through the eyes of a child again.

Sometimes we need to slow down and see the world through the eyes of a child again.

It's time to read!

One thought on “I don’t wanna grow up!

Leave a Reply

