Inspired by The Firm

This month’s topic is “Best books outside your genre that influenced you.”  For me that book was The Firm.  It was the first book that held my attention from start to finish.  I can say that with certainty because it was the first book I had ever read in its entirety.  I was 21 years old.

I didn’t hit my ‘reading peak’ until my twenties.  In fact, I had no interest in it whatsoever.  Every time I tried to read a book, I’d get bored and lose interest after a few chapters.  Then I came across John Grisham’s The Firm.  For the first time in my life I couldn’t put a book down.  His writing style, mystery and character building sucked me and kept me intrigued until the very end.  I couldn’t get enough.  After reading my very first book, I was hooked and started reading regularly.

I often wonder, if I hadn’t read The Firm, would I have ever started reading?  I most certainly wouldn’t have started writing.  For me, John Grisham, opened a whole new world of reading and writing that I never new existed.  He inspired me and changed my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by tylerhjolley. Bookmark the permalink.

About tylerhjolley

I was born in the era of the Star Wars and the Indiana Jones sagas. I’ve been enamored with science fiction and adventure stories ever since. In order to support my hobby of writing I decided to pursue dentistry. I graduated from Nova Southeastern University School of Dental Medicine in 2002. I then completed a four year orthodontic and periodontic residency at the University of Pennsylvania. In June 2006, I opened a private practice, Jolley Smiles, in Grand Junction, Colorado. I now have a total of four offices located in Grand Junction, Fruita, Montrose and Delta. Snowboarding, mountain biking, road biking, fly fishing, bird hunting, camping, hiking, and backpacking are the things I enjoy doing with my family. I also enjoy lecturing internationally on temporary orthodontic implants. Some of my journal articles have also been published in the Journal of Clinical Orthodontics. However, my true passion has always been fiction writing. When life gets stressful I escapes to unseen worlds to find relaxation. My career has been the vehicle to let me write without worry. I find inspiration from most of my adolescent patients. I continue to dream up fun and thrilling books to this day.

3 thoughts on “Inspired by The Firm

  1. Interesting that you hit “your” book so late in life, because aside from the age it sounds very like the experience I had with Lloyd Alexander’s books in 1st grade. I guess the book that completely sucks you in and makes you a reader can come along at any time…which I find really inspiring.

Leave a Reply

