March – Best books outside our genre that influenced us

Though Twilight is the book that got me started with my writing career, a few authors cemented my love of reading.

As a teenager, I read a lot of Stephen King books. He could draw me into a story, keeping me up till two in the morning, like no one else. And his ability to scare the daylights out of me was incredible!

I also enjoyed high fantasy back then, and read the Sword of Shannara Trilogy. Terry Brooks did a great job of making me invested in his characters. Though I no longer enjoy lengthy fantasy, I still recall the complete immersion into these stories.

Lately, though I mostly read young adult books, Gena Showalter and her paranormal romance books have been keeping me interested. Though each book focuses on the romance, her books all contain great storylines and interesting characters caught in situations that seem impossible.

Finally, Ann Rule and her true crime books amaze me. I don’t read a lot of nonfiction, but I’ve read many of her books and continue to enjoy them.

There are other books and authors I love, but these stand out as the books and authors outside my genre that keep me reading and trying new things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Kimmy :). Bookmark the permalink.

About Kimmy :)

Kimberly Miller received Bachelor's degrees from Georgian Court University and Rutgers University and a Master's degree from The University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey. She is an avid reader and particularly enjoys true crime and young adult novels. She grew up in New Jersey and currently resides in Monmouth County with her husband and three cats. When she’s not writing, she loves to travel to sunny islands where she snorkels by day and stargazes by night. She always takes her Nook with her.

One thought on “March – Best books outside our genre that influenced us

Leave a Reply

