Just Because I Write Urban Fantasy Doesn’t Mean It’s All I Read

Ok, I write epic fantasy as well, and I’ve published a few horror stories, though I wouldn’t call myself a horror writer. And, I definitely don’t limit myself to reading only the genres I write in.

One genre I just adore is historical fiction, and one of my all-time favorites is Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. Some put this title into the fantasy category due to the time travel elements, but what hooked me on this series was the amazing description of eighteenth century Scotland. And, every time Jamie calls Claire Sassenach, my heart does a little flip-flop.

BONUS: Starz is making Outlander into a TV series! I only hope they do the book justice.

Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon

I also enjoy a good mystery, and could curl up with an Agatha Christie novel any day of the week, even though I’ve read them all before. Other non-fantasy authors I find myself re-reading include Charles Dickens, William Shakespeare, and Anne Rice. Good stories never go bad, you know.

What are some of your favorite genres?

2 thoughts on “Just Because I Write Urban Fantasy Doesn’t Mean It’s All I Read

Leave a Reply

