It’s March!

I really hope this means that spring is on its way, because I’m about done with winter ๐Ÿ™‚

This month our authors will be sharing with us books, outside of their own genre, that have influenced them.

For me, well I write several genres and I read even more ๐Ÿ™‚ But I think one of the books that impacted me the most, especially as a young reader, was Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time. The first real novels I ever read were the Little House on the Prairie series, and then I moved on to Victoria Holt’s gothic romances (and pretty much set up camp there for the remainder of my days).

So A Wrinkle in Time was definitely a departure from what I was used to reading. But the story had me hooked immediately. It’s been years since I’ve read it, and I don’t remember specifics anymore. I don’t even remember the characters’ names. But I remember the FEEL of the book when I was reading it. The way the language rolled around in my head. I remember being so invested in the characters that they still pop in my head, all these years later, even though the specifics of them are gone.

Because of that series, I gave other genres besides historical romance a chance. It opened up entire worlds to me ๐Ÿ™‚ I always wanted to write stories that would stick with a reader like that. Maybe someday I will ๐Ÿ™‚

What books have you read that have stuck with you?

This entry was posted in Michelle McLean, Monthly Preview by Michelle McLean. Bookmark the permalink.

About Michelle McLean

Romance and non-fiction author Michelle McLean is a jeans and t-shirt kind of girl who is addicted to chocolate and Goldfish crackers and spent most of her formative years with her nose in a book. She has a B.S. in History, a M.A. in English, and loves her romance with a hearty side of suspenseful mystery. When Michelle's not editing, reading or chasing her kids around, she can usually be found in a quiet corner working on her next book. She resides in PA with her husband and two children, an insanely hyper dog, and three very spoiled cats.

Leave a Reply

