Literary Love

This month’s topic is Literary Love. I think this topic is awesome because I get to talk about new books, authors and covers that I’m currently obsessed with. I had a long list of potential winners. They were all so awesome, the only fair way I could narrow it down was to do a bracket system like the Sweet Sixteen. And the winners are….

Best Cover:
Huber-Hill-Golden-Staff

Blurb: Cíbola, the city of gold, is just a myth—or is it? As Huber and his friends search for a magical golden staff, they must believe in the legends and follow the clues that will lead them to this fabled city. But with a madman and a deadly secret society right on their trail, it quickly becomes a race for their lives! Huber’s final installment will keep any adventurer captivated.

Seriously, look at that cover.  How could you not want to read it? Huber Hill and the Golden Staff can be found on Amazon and Barnes & Noble

Best Book

17406847Blurb: A lush and gorgeously written debut, packed with action, intrigue, and a thrilling love triangle.

Alexa Hollen is a fighter. Forced to disguise herself as a boy and serve in the king’s army, Alex uses her quick wit and fierce sword-fighting skills to earn a spot on the elite prince’s guard. But when a powerful sorcerer sneaks into the palace in the dead of night, even Alex, who is virtually unbeatable, can’t prevent him from abducting her, her fellow guard and friend Rylan, and Prince Damian, taking them through the treacherous wilds of the jungle and deep into enemy territory.

The longer Alex is held captive with both Rylan and the prince, the more she realizes that she is not the only one who has been keeping dangerous secrets. And suddenly, after her own secret is revealed, Alex finds herself confronted with two men vying for her heart: the safe and steady Rylan, who has always cared for her, and the dark, intriguing Damian. With hidden foes lurking around every corner, is Alex strong enough to save herself and the kingdom she’s sworn to protect.

I had such a fun time reading Defy.  It’s one of the best books I’ve read all year. Larson does a amazing job at world building, you’ll lose yourself in this book. Defy is available at Amazon and Barnes and Noble

Aaaannddd, last but certainly not least, newest author I’m excited about is…..

Jonathan Ryan!

j.ryan

His latest novel, 3 Gates of The Dead released this fall.  I found his writing style unique and intriguing.  While I normally stick to the YA genre I stepped out of my comfort zone and tried 3 Gates of The Dead.  I don’t have a ton of time to read, but I found myself completely losing track of time when I read it.  I couldn’t wait to unravel the mystery and was shocked at the ending.  Find out more about Jonathan Ryan on his Website. 3 Gates of The Dead is available at Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

This entry was posted in Tyler Jolley by tylerhjolley. Bookmark the permalink.

About tylerhjolley

I was born in the era of the Star Wars and the Indiana Jones sagas. I’ve been enamored with science fiction and adventure stories ever since. In order to support my hobby of writing I decided to pursue dentistry. I graduated from Nova Southeastern University School of Dental Medicine in 2002. I then completed a four year orthodontic and periodontic residency at the University of Pennsylvania. In June 2006, I opened a private practice, Jolley Smiles, in Grand Junction, Colorado. I now have a total of four offices located in Grand Junction, Fruita, Montrose and Delta. Snowboarding, mountain biking, road biking, fly fishing, bird hunting, camping, hiking, and backpacking are the things I enjoy doing with my family. I also enjoy lecturing internationally on temporary orthodontic implants. Some of my journal articles have also been published in the Journal of Clinical Orthodontics. However, my true passion has always been fiction writing. When life gets stressful I escapes to unseen worlds to find relaxation. My career has been the vehicle to let me write without worry. I find inspiration from most of my adolescent patients. I continue to dream up fun and thrilling books to this day.

3 thoughts on “Literary Love

  1. Funny I didn’t enjoy Defy all that much. The MC annoyed me b/c she went from being tough to being this girly girl almost like she never had the guts she had in the first place. It had much more potential than was grasped upon to be honest. I love the cover and I will read the next one, b/c I want to see where it goes.

Leave a Reply

