2014 and onwards

in 2013, Spencer Hill did me proud with a relaunch of The Obsidian Pebble, book 1 of the Artefact series. Obsidian Pebble front cover_120

Book 2, The Beast of Seabourne, is scheduled for October 2014. We’re already redrafting number 3 after beta readers have had their say.

In March 2014, the first of the Hipposync archives, contemporary adult fantasy, sticks its head out from under the covers. Once again, I’m really excited to see this join the growing band of Spence City authors. And once again, the awesome (and busy) Lisa Amowitz has worked with me on the cover. We’re calling it The 400Lb Gorilla.400lbGorillafinishCOVER

I will also be pondering  my previous existence as a thriller writer.  A decade ago I published 4 novels of the, ‘don’t read them if you’re alone in the dark’ type. Not horror, but psychological thrillers of the fava-beans-and-chianti type. Two were made into TV movies, so I kind of chalk them up as successful, but they weren’t really what I wanted to do and plotting them ended up sending me to places I didn’t really want to be.

However, since the publishers have decided to bring out a couple of them as ebooks, and these involve the same female lead character, I find myself drawn to the third manuscript still sitting in the drawer. There remains unfinished business there for Natalie Vine.

So, how am I going to manage 3 different personas? Well, I think it’s all about branding. Katherine Rusch says it all much better than I could here.

On that point, I’ll add one note of encouragement for everyone, again written by Ms Rusch and probably the wisest words I read in 2013.

‘The readers will buy what they like, when they find it, and when they want it. Not one moment before.
How do you find readers? Publish your work. Keep your work in print. Be patient.’

Have a great year.

The readers will buy what they like, when they find it, and when they want it. Not one moment before.

How do you find readers? Publish your work. Keep your work in print. Be patient.

– See more at: http://kriswrites.com/2013/10/09/the-business-rusch-standards/#sthash.Oowl3EBF.dpuf

The readers will buy what they like, when they find it, and when they want it. Not one moment before.

How do you find readers? Publish your work. Keep your work in print. Be patient.

– See more at: http://kriswrites.com/2013/10/09/the-business-rusch-standards/#sthash.Oowl3EBF.dpuf

2 thoughts on “2014 and onwards

Leave a Reply

