Saying it Out Loud

micpenWhen I was young, I did all kinds of creative things. I loved to draw, to sing, to dance, to act out plays, and of course, to write. As I entered my teen years, I concentrated a lot on singing. I was in the choir at school, made All South Jersey Choir one year, participated in musicals, and even did well in a talent show or two. I still wrote stories, but for a while, singing took precedence. I wanted to be a singer.

As the years went by, and I became an adult who had to actually work for a living, singing kind of fell away a bit. I did partake in the occasional Karaoke contest and sang in the church choir, but I didn’t actively pursue any kind of singing career. But I did continue to write stories. Creating my own worlds and characters, the thrill of holding the fate of imaginary people in my hands, that never left me.

I still do like to sing, and I love it when my daughter does it (she’s awesome, better than I could have ever been), but it’s taken a back seat. But I never really said it out loud. That is, until I was out with friends for a “Hen’s Night”—which is basically a bachelorette party—and I sang some Karaoke for the bride-to-be. One of my friends told me I could have been a professional singer.

My response? “I’d rather be a writer.”

I think that was the first time I said it out loud, and although it felt very final (as if I could only pick one career and that was decision day), it also felt good. Writing is something I don’t see myself growing tired of. Something that still gives me joy.

I’m just glad I get to share that joy with the world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Dorothy Dreyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dorothy Dreyer

Dorothy Dreyer has always believed in magic. She loves reading, writing, movies, and spending time with her family and friends. Half-American and half-Filipino, Dorothy lives in Germany with her husband and two children. She is the author of the young adult paranormal Reaper's Rite series. MY SISTER'S REAPER released June 18th, 2013, from Month9Books. MY TETHERED SOUL releases August 19th, 2014.

Leave a Reply

