The Twelve Days of Writing

Here’s a Christmas carol we can all relate to:

On the first day of writing, my novel gave to me, an escape from reality.

On the second day of writing, my novel gave to me, two antagonists and an escape from reality.

On the third day of writing, my novel gave to me, three main acts, two antagonists, and an escape from reality.

On the fourth day of writing, my novel gave to me, four migraine headaches, three main acts, two antagonists, and an escape from reality.

On the fifth day of writing, my novel gave to me, five romance scenes, four migraine headaches, three main acts, two antagonists, and an escape from reality.

On the sixth day of writing, my novel gave to me, six scenes deleted, five romance scenes, four migraine headaches, three main acts, two antagonists, and an escape from reality.

On the seventh day of writing, my novel gave to me, seven drinks a-spilling, six scenes deleted, five romance scenes, four migraine headaches, three main acts, two antagonists, and an escape from reality.

On the eighth day of writing, my novel gave to me, eight twists too many, seven drinks a-spilling, six scenes deleted, five romance scenes, four migraine headaches, three main acts, two antagonists, and an escape from reality.

On the ninth day of writing, my novel gave to me, nine pages written, eight twists too many, seven drinks a-spilling, six scenes deleted, five romance scenes, four migraine headaches, three main acts, two antagonists, and an escape from reality.

On the tenth day of writing, my novel gave to me, ten rules of magic, nine pages written, eight twists too many, seven drinks a-spilling, six scenes deleted, five romance scenes, four migraine headaches, three main acts, two antagonists, and an escape from reality.

On the eleventh day of writing, my novel gave to me, eleven different viewpoints, nine pages written, eight twists too many, seven drinks a-spilling, six scenes deleted, five romance scenes, four migraine headaches, three main acts, two antagonists, and an escape from reality.

On the twelfth day of writing, my novel gave to me, twelve wondrous moments, eleven different viewpoints, nine pages written, eight twists too many, seven drinks a-spilling, six scenes deleted, five romance scenes, four migraine headaches, three main acts, two antagonists, and an escape from reality.

Happy Holidays, Everyone!

10 thoughts on “The Twelve Days of Writing

Leave a Reply

