Managing Time (or not as the case may be)…

As I looked at the date today and realized my Scene13 blog was coming due soon, it dawned on me: I had forgotten to post last month.

I’m not one to overlook obligations I’ve agreed to, so it horrified me to realize this.  And I thought Why? Why?! WHY?! (Okay, maybe not so dramatic. One blog post missed doesn’t kick me onto Santa’s Naughty list. I hope.)

My reasons for gaining temporary blog amnesia? My day job was in the month affectionately called “hell month.”   As I just started this job about 7 months ago, this was my first go-round.  I had no idea how all consuming hell month would be.  My company puts on an annual international conference.  So this took on long hours, late nights, wee mornings, 15 hour days while the conference is running and a complete inability to focus on anything else.  Including writing.

Those are the tough times, when your life responsibilities get in the way of writing.  And prior to that, I’d been on a roll. Every night, butt in seat, throwing down with my muse to get my work count done. It all came to a halt.

And it was okay.

I think as writers, we listen to what everyone else says they do to keep moving forward.  We think, “i should be doing getting up at 5 am to write like she does…” even when we know at 5 am, zombies have more brain power than we do.  We wonder how the Nora Roberts’s do seem to write a book a day.  How the Brenda Novaks and Allison Brennans with huge families do it.  We compare. We contrast.  And invariably, we’ll fall short.

So here is the point of my rambles: stop comparing.  Life is a journey and there are times that other priorities, like family and the job that pays the bills, must come first.  And when the moment is over, you force yourself back to the desk. Get back in your groove.  And write again.

This entry was posted in Jeannie Ruesch by Jeannie Ruesch. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jeannie Ruesch

Jeannie Ruesch is an author of historical romantic suspense, a graphic designer, a mom and an avid fan of popcorn. Her next book, CLOAKED IN DANGER, comes out January 27, 2014— “...larger-than-life characters, a vivid and believable setting, heart-pounding romance and just the right amount of mystery. Don’t miss it! It kept me reading deep into the night.” — New York Times Bestselling Author Brenda Novak

Leave a Reply

