What I’m Really Thankful For

As I’ve stated on many occasions, and those who know me will attest, I have no fears.

No, really. Snakes, spiders, clowns…phaugh. I laugh at your lame attempts to terrify me.

However, about 3 1/2 years ago, I knew true fear. You see, I was in the hospital, awaiting the Cesarean section birth of my twins.

Me, on the way to the hospital

Me, on the way to the hospital

Why a C-section, you ask? Well, they were both breech. That, coupled with my age, made a C-section an inevitability. However, once my husband and I had arrived at hospital, we encountered a new wrinkle.

When the attending nurse sent my blood for analysis, I had a platelet count of 72,000. For those of you who aren’t hematologists,  a normal platelet count is 150,000 – 400,000.

Um, not good.

So, they drew more blood from me, assuming that it had been a faulty reading. Well, that wasn’t the case, being that the next draw held a platelet count of 68,000.

Gulp.

I’ll spare ya’ll most of the ensuing drama, and info about the anesthesiologist who recommended that I go home and see if my condition resolved on its own (and my response of, “I am thirty eight weeks and four days pregnant with twins, and I am NOT leaving without extra people!”) and sum things up thusly: I was wheeled into the OR, lying there on a cold, hard table, terrified to my core that I would die before ever having met my children.

My husband, the inimitable Mr. Robb, and the Wonder Twins mere moments after birth

My husband, the inimitable Mr. Robb, and the Wonder Twins mere moments after birth

That, my friends, is fear. And, the outcome of this event is what I’m most thankful for.

We made it!

We made it!

Today, the Wonder Twins are three. Daily, we conquer obstacles, learn new things, and generally have fun. And I haven’t forgotten for a moment how precious this little lark we call life is.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Jennifer Allis Provost. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer Allis Provost

I'm Jennifer Allis Provost. I write books about faeries, orcs and elves. Zombies too. My latest release is Copper Ravens, book two of the Copper Legacy, in June 2014 from Spence City Friend me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jennallis Follow me on Twitter: @parthalan http://jenniferallisprovost.blogspot.com/

3 thoughts on “What I’m Really Thankful For

Leave a Reply

