Grave fears

This month we’re supposed to share our fears. So let me tell you about something that scares the heck out of me (outside of something horrible happening to my family and friends, and the movie The Exorcist).

Image from listverse.com : 10 Horrifying Premature Burials

I have a cross between claustrophobia and taphephobia. Everyone knows about the fear of enclosed spaces. Many people are claustrophobic. But I’m also deathly afraid of losing the ability to breath, even to the extreme that I fear being buried alive—which is called taphephobia. I even panic when I watch movies where someone alive is put in a box or a coffin that gets put in the ground. *shudders* I can’t stand it! I also panic when someone pins me down (like if we’re just playing around) and I’m unable to move my arms and legs, especially if there’s some weight put on my chest. I literally feel the air being pressed out of my lungs, and the inability to refill them. I also don’t like when something is too tight around my neck. Is there a word for the fear of not being able to breathe? Asphyxiphobia?

I have a theory about why I have this fear. If there are such things as past lives, I think in my past life I either drowned, got buried alive, or was choked to death.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Dorothy Dreyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dorothy Dreyer

Dorothy Dreyer has always believed in magic. She loves reading, writing, movies, and spending time with her family and friends. Half-American and half-Filipino, Dorothy lives in Germany with her husband and two children. She is the author of the young adult paranormal Reaper's Rite series. MY SISTER'S REAPER released June 18th, 2013, from Month9Books. MY TETHERED SOUL releases August 19th, 2014.

9 thoughts on “Grave fears

  1. Dorothy, there’s a reason why I don’t want to be buried when I die. I think a lot of people are afraid of being buried alive. And as for claustrophobia, I hate elevators, can’t go down water slides that have the tubes you go through because they are closed in on all sides, and I can’t go through tunnels without getting teary and having to close my eyes. So I’m with you.

  2. Did you ever read FALL OF THE HOUSE OF USHERS? Or … remember the series by Steven Spielberg, AMAZING STORIES. There was an amazing one where a woman got buried alive. SO SO SCARY!

Leave a Reply

