Come Play With Me

A few years ago, while starting my practice on the Western Slope of Colorado, I would travel to my hometown of Vernal, UT to work a few days a month. Nothing scary there. Nothing, that is, until I was forced to sleep in my sister, Britain’s, old room. Britain, like most children of the 80’s was a huge fan of the cabbage patch doll. So much so, that she had about 200 of them that lined the top third of the room in two rows. That’s right, 200 old, moldy, weirdly slumped cabbage patch dolls staring at me from every direction. And let’s face it; have you ever seen a cabbage patch doll that didn’t look like Phil Collins? Creepy. After a long drive and feeling very tired I called it a night and fell asleep without incident even though 200 mini Phil’s were watching me.

“Come play with me,” a high-pitched voice beckoned. I sat straight up, wondering where the heck the voice came from. I looked around, saw nothing, and decided it was just a dream. I laid back down, feeling slightly jittery and tried to go back to sleep. A few minutes passed and once again I heard, “Come play with me.” I jumped up and turned on the light, my heart was racing. My ears hadn’t deceived me, I was awake and knew I heard someone asking to come play with them. What this the start of a Chucky movie? “Come play with me.” I whipped around, realizing the sound was coming from behind me. That’s when I came to my senses and realized that one of the little Phil’s batteries were probably dying and just needed to be removed. I found the offending doll, ripped out the batteries, and for good measure drop the doll unnecessarily hard on the floor. Just to be sure.

A few months later I was staying at my parents house again, and this time they were out of town. I was showering and heard a knock at the door. Not a regular knock, a loud, angry knock. It startled me, I had shampoo in my hair and was soaking wet. I turned off the shower and grabbed a towel. I looked opened the door, looked out, and no one was there. Irritated and cold, I got back in the shower. A few moments later I heard it again, but this time it sounded even louder and more urgent. I was more than annoyed so I stomped out of the shower, butt-naked, stalked to the front door and opened it. Nothing. No one was there.

So, yeah, I’m afraid of my childhood home. Maybe it’s the dolls, or something else. Either way, I don’t want to find out.

And no, Phil Collins, I don’t want to play.

patch
Actual photo from Britain’s room

This entry was posted in Tyler Jolley and tagged by tylerhjolley. Bookmark the permalink.

About tylerhjolley

I was born in the era of the Star Wars and the Indiana Jones sagas. I’ve been enamored with science fiction and adventure stories ever since. In order to support my hobby of writing I decided to pursue dentistry. I graduated from Nova Southeastern University School of Dental Medicine in 2002. I then completed a four year orthodontic and periodontic residency at the University of Pennsylvania. In June 2006, I opened a private practice, Jolley Smiles, in Grand Junction, Colorado. I now have a total of four offices located in Grand Junction, Fruita, Montrose and Delta. Snowboarding, mountain biking, road biking, fly fishing, bird hunting, camping, hiking, and backpacking are the things I enjoy doing with my family. I also enjoy lecturing internationally on temporary orthodontic implants. Some of my journal articles have also been published in the Journal of Clinical Orthodontics. However, my true passion has always been fiction writing. When life gets stressful I escapes to unseen worlds to find relaxation. My career has been the vehicle to let me write without worry. I find inspiration from most of my adolescent patients. I continue to dream up fun and thrilling books to this day.

15 thoughts on “Come Play With Me

  1. Dolls FREAK ME OUT!!! I would NEVER have slept in that room. I would have opted for the couch, or kitchen floor, or even my car! My mother in law collects dolls and her house is super duper creepy! I slept in the guest room once when my kids and I got stuck there during a snow storm. She had a few dolls in the room and all night I swear I heard them moving all around or whatever. I barely slept and eventually had to turn on the bedside light. They were all staring at me. I went around the room facing them the other way and facedown on the floor. In the morning, my mother in law said I looked terrible. I didn’t have the heart to tell her that I can’t sleep in the “creepy room”. She went up to the room before I got the chance to put it back as it was. Imagine, my 41 year old self, afraid of dolls. What the heck was I supposed to tell her???? LOL!

      • If you want to make your fear of dolls as bad as mine, read Burn, Witch, Burn, by A. Merritt. Fortunately for me, it’s the kind of fear that makes me ready to grab a hammer and start smashing if any creepy dolls come after me! 😉

Leave a Reply

