Till Death Do Us Part

Flash Fiction Challenge!

The book I’m reading:
The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
The first sentence (from chapter one, not the prologue):
It was freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrived.
Google image of the last noun in that sentence:
Zombie still shot from The Walking Dead (TV show)

Three down. I didn’t know how many more would follow. But my arm ached from the jerk of the shotgun, and my nose burned from the smell of blood.

I backed into the ramshackle of a house I used to call my home, searching for a sign that James was still alive somewhere. Wiping my brow, I spun to face the chaos before me. The silhouettes of upturned furniture came into focus, and on a shuddered breath, I darted forward.

I should have known the answering machine wouldn’t be on. Ever since the dead began rising and taking over, those of us who’d survived were left with no electricity, no phones, and no clue of what to do. I’d been away when the virus struck. Away from home. Away from James. I couldn’t get a hold of him for the few hours my cell phone lasted. And now I had no idea if he was alive … or taken down by one of those creatures.

A shadow moved in the hall, making my breath hitch and my grasp on the gun tighten. The figure moved toward me with an awkward gait. I held the shotgun up, swallowing hard as I prepared myself to shoot. And then his face came into view.

Oh God no!

With the way his flesh was falling away from his face, the way his eyes glazed over, I wouldn’t have thought I would recognize him. But I did. James. He was one of them.

He stopped. His eyes trained on the gun before they slipped up to meet mine. I knew he wasn’t the James I knew anymore, but for a single moment those eyes spoke to me. They cried out, “You said you’d love me no matter what.”

Tears streamed down my cheeks as my eyes answered back, “I do. That’s why I have to do this.”

My lids squeezed shut as I pulled the trigger.

7 thoughts on “Till Death Do Us Part

Leave a Reply

