The Flash Fiction Challenge

The challenge: Flash Fiction (oy vey)

The Book: Night Train to Lisbon By Pascal Mercier

The word: Bundesstraße

The image: Image

And now, my embarrassing attempt at flash fiction (done with poor internet connection and a numb mouth from getting a bunch of fillings at the dentist this morning):

 

I hate rain. At least, I hate the rain right now. It’s one of those days where everything is going wrong. I woke up late, even though my alarm was howling for at least forty-five minutes before I paid attention. I’m still trying to catch up with the hours I’ve missed. I feel like I am on a reality tv show with start I had to my day.  I leaped out of bed, stubbed my toe, cussed my brains out, but kept going for the bathroom. The hotel room was completely trashed from the night before. I can’t even remember what happened last night. Who was that pathetic fool that took over my body? I was so nervous, and the thought of being I’m late for the meeting that could make or break my entire future doesn’t help. I am driving as fast as possible considering that we were in bumper to bumper traffic. The Bundesstraße, known to the locals as ‘The B’ is crammed with cars. It would probably be faster to get out of the car and walk to my destination. The meeting of a life time. February in Germany. What the hell was I thinking? This was a terrible idea. I should have sent Maggie instead. It’s too cold for me to think straight. I hate cold. I hate the rain, I hate cold, and I hate myself for jumping at the opportunity to make a fool of myself. I wanted so badly to prove to my boss that I can be better. So, I volunteered to fly half way across the world to sell a product who name I don’t even know how to pronounce. I guess it’s too late now. I’m in Germany, I’m late, and it’s cold. I might as well take it in while I have the chance. Come Monday, I’ll be without a job, without a family, without a life. Once they discover what I have done, there will be no way to turn back. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by leighesther. Bookmark the permalink.

About leighesther

​​​​​​Leigh Hershkovich's writing career began almost at infancy. Born and raised in The City By The Bay, Leigh was never seen without a pen and paper by her side, and was never without a story to share. With her vivid imagination and sharp writing tactics, Leigh has taken the world by storm twice over. Now, with her debut novel Shattered Illusions, readers will get a first time glimpse into her first full fiction attempt. ​ An avid reader, accomplished pianist, passionate scholar of language and the arts, Leigh currently resides in New York with her imagination.

6 thoughts on “The Flash Fiction Challenge

Leave a Reply

