Back to Work

Being off the grid and in a different location for nearly six weeks has been a great learning experience, even if somewhat painful in the beginning, and I still have another two weeks before I can get back into a serious writing routine (I’m currently writing this from a hotel—but hey! at least they have internet).

Now that the summer is almost over, I find myself taking another serious look at the work-related resolutions I made last January, and I’m feeling more motivated to make some changes after seeing real results (as forced as they were).

1)   My office is a chaotic disaster zone compared to the room I was in for the summer. I’ve come to realize that all my complaining (several years worth) about clutter has been nothing but a huge waste mental energy. Taking care of it once and for all would SO be worth the effort, and the energy could definitely be put to better use.

2)   With such drastic internet restrictions (and a clutter-free workspace), I experienced some serious writing progress. I think I might *gasp* shut down my browser and schedule internet time instead of checking in several times an hour.

3) I realized that I’m not getting any work done by hashing out scenes for the 40th time while I ought to be sleeping (or hiking or 4-wheeling or pretending to pay attention to what the kids are doing) on the pretense that all I’ll have to do is type it out when I get back to the computer. I’m just missing out on much needed sleep and life in general. I deserve a break! And sleep!

4)    As much as I’m dying to get back to work, I’m going to do my best to write ONLY when the kids are at school. I’ve gotten better about turning off the writer in me to put more of my attention in the real-life present. It’s a lot less stressful for everyone when I’m not trying to work at all times.

So that’s the plan and I hope it sticks! How ’bout you? If you’ve taken the summer off, do you plan to make any changes before you get going again?

6 thoughts on “Back to Work

  1. Sounds like you have a great plan! I didn’t take the summer off, but right now I’m letting one first draft some space while I return to another story.

  2. Sounds like you had a much-needed rest! I took a little break from writing to usher a new book into the world, but probably not enough. Gotta schedule in that break time and make it count!

  3. I gasped right along with you on #3. Dude, that would be so hard.
    I didn’t take any time off this summer. In fact, this was the first time I didn’t have a summer schedule (last patient is at 3pm and I’m outta there by 3:30!), I really missed at first.

  4. I haven’t really taken the summer “off,” but I have slowed down to a snail’s pace. That said, I’m in the middle of revisions from my editor, in addition to plotting out the next book, so I do feel like I’m back in the swing of things. Summer for me is more like a “gliding” time, rather than coming to a full stop.

Leave a Reply

