Book Trailers – Thoughts?

So, I’m a book trailer nut. I LOVE them. I think they are an exciting and fun way of snagging new readers and inspiring interest in a book. Maybe it’s because when I’m writing my own stories, I sort of see them as movies in my head (so much so that sometimes I’ll be itching to get back to this cool movie I was watching only to remember it was the book I was working on) 😀

Book trailers have definitely evolved from when I first saw one. From still shots with captions to trailers that look like actual studio produced movie trailers, I think these trailers just help give a book’s blurb that added oomph. Whether or not these actually help sales, I have no idea. But, regardless, I not only enjoy watching them but making them as well.

(trailer for Lisa Amowitz’s Breaking Glass – a gorgeous example of what you can do with still shots)

One of these days, I’d love to have the budget to hire someone to make a really spectacular movie-quality trailer 🙂 (like this one for the novel Struck by Jennifer Bosworth. It’s really incredible).

There are a lot of companies out there that can create some truly beautiful trailers (like Book Candy Studios who created this one for Mary Lindsey’s Ashes on the Waves).

But even for the budgetly challenged (such as myself), there are a lot of great options out there.

Sites such as morguefile.com and sxc.hu have great images that are 100% free to use. Other sites like 123rf.com and shutterstock.com have wonderful (and affordable!) royalty free images (meaning you pay for the initial use of them but do not have to pay continued royalties).

These sites also have stock footage – video clips (many ranging from $15-$20) that you can use to create trailers.

I’ve found one of the most effective tools of a trailer (to me at least) is the music. Music can create the most intense emotions and if you choose the right soundtrack for your trailer, it can really bring the whole thing to the next level.

I’m very fortunate in that I have an amazingly talented cousin who composes some of the most beautiful music I’ve ever heard. I used one of his songs in my first trailer. (Check him out – Bret Morrell – he’s amazing!).

For my other two trailers, I found some really great (and totally free) music on freestockmusic.com.

With all the options out there, you can actually create a really nice trailer, even one with action film footage, for relatively cheap.

So what is your opinion on book trailers? Do you like watching them? Do you make your own?

This entry was posted in Michelle McLean and tagged , , by Michelle McLean. Bookmark the permalink.

About Michelle McLean

Romance and non-fiction author Michelle McLean is a jeans and t-shirt kind of girl who is addicted to chocolate and Goldfish crackers and spent most of her formative years with her nose in a book. She has a B.S. in History, a M.A. in English, and loves her romance with a hearty side of suspenseful mystery. When Michelle's not editing, reading or chasing her kids around, she can usually be found in a quiet corner working on her next book. She resides in PA with her husband and two children, an insanely hyper dog, and three very spoiled cats.

8 thoughts on “Book Trailers – Thoughts?

  1. Love trailers and I agree with Kelly, Struck trailer is incredible. I wonder who did it. Book Candy Studio are expensive though. I used to create my own with stills, but I now use Californiaworks.

    • They are. I’ll have to check out Californiaworks. There was another company I just found as well….can’t remember what it is now lol Oh! Animoto. Not sure what their prices are but I think they were okay.

Leave a Reply

