My Summer (Book) Fling

I am a major bookworm. Anyone who knows me knows that I tend to go through 10-15 books per month…Well, at least, I used to. In high school, I would literally devour books. In 9th grade, my English teacher, having grown tired of my begging and nagging for a new book to read at the beginning of every week, gave me the assignment to ‘end all assignment’: I was to read 100 books from January to June. If I did it, and agreed to be quizzed on books at random, I could skip the final. So, I tried it…February to April, 118 books. BAM! I always wanted more- And I couldn’t understand it when adults told me that they didn’t have time to read. How could you not make time for something so important? But then, I graduated high school and moved into the real world. My days became filled with endless amounts of work and responsibilities, and I found myself without any time to read. There have been times where I have ridden the subway with no destination in mind simply for the purpose of having an undisturbed 45 minutes or so where I could read to my hearts content. Moments of peace and quiet are the moments where I go lunging for my book shelf, eager to read whatever I purchased six months prior but haven’t gotten around to read.  It wasn’t only that. I found myself with a lack of good books to read. I had the library of the world at my finger tips, yet I found myself picking one horrible read after the other. There was a period of about six months where none of the titles I can come across were memorable, which, for a dedicated bibliophile, was devastating. There were some titles from my ‘drought’ period that were absolutely mind blowing, titles that gave me confidence in my future reading endeavors. The pattern didn’t usually continue with successful titles. It became kind of a love- hate relationship which had once been the love of my life.

 

In the early stages of my promotion campaign of Shattered Illusions, I promised myself that as soon as things were more or less under control (right, because a book campaign and success of it can ever really be in a person’s control…), I would pick up my obsession once more and go out in search of the books I was missing out on. I made insanely long lists of titles from every genre and every year, just to feel like I was getting back in the game. My Summer Book Fling this Summer has been fantastic. I’ve had a chance to catch up with all of the things I’ve been missing. Of course, while most people see a summer read as something light and fluffy, I’m the girl shlepping Parade’s End (almost 1000 pages) with me to the beach! It has been incredibly fulfilling to bring my own novel to the world, I really, really missed the feeling of holding a book in my hands, just for the sake of it. I’ve had so much fun promoting and sharing Shattered Illusions with the world, but it kind of forced me to put my long standing ‘love affair’ with literature to the side. Well, now that I have dived back in, I’ll have to make room for both. After all, what is a writer without the books they read?

 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized by leighesther. Bookmark the permalink.

About leighesther

​​​​​​Leigh Hershkovich's writing career began almost at infancy. Born and raised in The City By The Bay, Leigh was never seen without a pen and paper by her side, and was never without a story to share. With her vivid imagination and sharp writing tactics, Leigh has taken the world by storm twice over. Now, with her debut novel Shattered Illusions, readers will get a first time glimpse into her first full fiction attempt. ​ An avid reader, accomplished pianist, passionate scholar of language and the arts, Leigh currently resides in New York with her imagination.

4 thoughts on “My Summer (Book) Fling

  1. I agree with Sandra above — reading is definitely part of a writer’s education. I can totally sympathize with real life getting in the way of reading time; I hate when that happens!

  2. Pingback: The Dedication | Mimamakim

Leave a Reply

