Summer Reading

As the mother of a five-year-old home from school, the summer doesn’t give me a whole lot of time to do anything. In fact, as the unpaid taxi driver responsible foImager ferrying the kidlet to piano, swim lessons, and horseback riding, I must admit the summer months are my least productive. Any free moments I do have are spent writing instead of reading.

There is one exception, however, I do use the summer months to get caught up on my craft reading. I recently purchased The Emotion Thesaurus by Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi and I can’t recommend it enough as a stable to any writer’s library. If you’re like me, you use the same internal and external cues over and over again to explain emotion. What I love about this book is it gives you some new ones to add to your writing to keep it fresh. I bought the paperback version because I like to write notes and highlight. Definitely money well spent.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by colegibsen. Bookmark the permalink.

About colegibsen

When Cole Gibsen isn't writing books for young adults, she can be found rocking out with her band, sewing crazy costumes for the fun of it, picking off her nail polish, or drinking milk straight from the jug -- provided no one is looking. She is the author of the young adult KATANA series (Flux) of which the sequel, SENSHI, will release March 8th, 2013 in a bookstore near you.

8 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. I LOVE this book. It is always on my desk. I use it so much. I also go to their website constantly. Usually when I’m writing I have two windows open in my browser. One is Merriam-Webster and the second is Angela and Becca’s website: The Bookshelf Muse. Excellent resource!!

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

