Summer Readin’ and Writin’

Summer writing, had me a blast
Summer writing, didn’t happn so fast

I wrote a book that made me crazy
I miss the days when I could be lazy

Summer days drifting away
To, write every summer night

Well-a well-a well-a, huh
Tell me more, tell me more
Did you get very far? (yes ½ of Prodigal is done)
Tell me more, tell me more
Like are there any tzar’s? (funny you should ask…)

I typed too fast, then got a cramp
Then when I stretched, I broke a lamp
My wife looked at me, and simply frowned
Then she said, go walk the hounds

Summer sun, the writing has begun
During all of, the summer nights

Well-a well-a well-a huh
Tell me more, tell me more
Was there love at first sight? (Not really, you’ll have to read it)
Tell me more, tell me more
Did you write a sweet fight? (Yep, a bunch)

BUT seriously, I did find some time to read in between writing and life. Here’s what I’ve read so far.

BreakingGlasscover

On the night seventeen-year-old Jeremy Glass winds up in the hospital with a broken leg and a blood alcohol level well above the legal limit, his secret crush, Susannah, disappears. When he begins receiving messages from her from beyond the grave, he’s not sure whether they’re real or if he’s losing his grip on reality. Clue by clue, he gets closer to unraveling the mystery, and soon realizes he must discover the truth or become the next victim himself.

TRIANGLESHighResImage

A cruise ship. A beautiful island. Two sexy guys. What could possibly go wrong?

In the Bermuda Triangle—a lot.

Hoping to leave behind the reminders of her crappy life–her father’s death years ago, her mother’s medical problems, and the loser who’s practically stalking her–seventeen-year-old Autumn Taylor hops on a ship with her sister for a little distraction. When she wakes up in the Bermuda Triangle, she fears she’s gone nuts for more than one reason: that loser’s suddenly claiming they’re a happy couple… a hot guy is wrapping his arms around her and saying “Happy Anniversary”… and suddenly, she’s full of bruises, losing her hair, and getting IV medication. Autumn visits the ship’s doctor, hoping for a pill or a shot to make the craziness go away. Instead, she’s warned that these “alternate realities” could become permanent.

She just has to ask herself one question—how the hell is she going to get out of this mess?

9897164

Fate isn’t something to mess with… and now, neither is Alex.

Alex has always feared two things: losing herself in the Awakening and being placed on the Elixir. But love has always been stronger than Fate, and Aiden St. Delphi is willing to make war on the gods—and Alex herself—to bring her back.

The gods have killed thousands and could destroy entire cities in their quest to stop Seth from taking Alex’s power and becoming the all-powerful God Killer. But breaking Alex’s connection to Seth isn’t the only problem. There are a few pesky little loopholes in the whole “an Apollyon can’t be killed” theory, and the only person who might know how to stop the destruction has been dead for centuries.

Finding their way past the barriers that guard the Underworld, searching for one soul among countless millions, and then somehow returning will be hard enough. Alex might be able to keep Seth from becoming the God Killer… or she might become the God Killer herself.

I just started Kelly Hashway’s Stalked by Death.
15980368

Jodi knows that any slip-ups made by the Ophi–a special group of necromancers born under the 13th sign of the zodiac–will fall on her shoulders… and that Hades is just waiting for them to screw up so he can wipe out the Ophi line.

Unfortunately, Jodi has only convinced one Ophi to join her school: A hot guy named Chase who jeopardizes her relationship with Alex. Jodi loves Alex, but Chase can enhance her powers with just a touch—making her stronger than any Ophi has ever been.

Her mixed emotions send her powers surging out of control, and the dead start rising without her conscious summoning—exactly what Hades doesn’t want! If she chooses Alex over Chase, she may lose the battle to Hades, leading the Ophi race to extinction. If she chooses Chase, she might be able to stop Hades for good… but lose everything else.

Jodi needs to figure things out fast–because death is stalking her at every turn.

This entry was posted in song writing, writing and tagged by tylerhjolley. Bookmark the permalink.

About tylerhjolley

I was born in the era of the Star Wars and the Indiana Jones sagas. I’ve been enamored with science fiction and adventure stories ever since. In order to support my hobby of writing I decided to pursue dentistry. I graduated from Nova Southeastern University School of Dental Medicine in 2002. I then completed a four year orthodontic and periodontic residency at the University of Pennsylvania. In June 2006, I opened a private practice, Jolley Smiles, in Grand Junction, Colorado. I now have a total of four offices located in Grand Junction, Fruita, Montrose and Delta. Snowboarding, mountain biking, road biking, fly fishing, bird hunting, camping, hiking, and backpacking are the things I enjoy doing with my family. I also enjoy lecturing internationally on temporary orthodontic implants. Some of my journal articles have also been published in the Journal of Clinical Orthodontics. However, my true passion has always been fiction writing. When life gets stressful I escapes to unseen worlds to find relaxation. My career has been the vehicle to let me write without worry. I find inspiration from most of my adolescent patients. I continue to dream up fun and thrilling books to this day.

15 thoughts on “Summer Readin’ and Writin’

  1. Awesome list! I have read three of the four and the last one is on my list in the next two weeks! ACK! Your song is awesome! Grease is one of my ALL TIME favorite movies. I am sure I’ve seen it 50+ times! You rock Tyler!

  2. I had “Summer Lovin'” in my head before I even read your lyrics! How cool! (Unfortunately, now I have “Look at Me, I’m Sandra Dee” in my head now–for someone with my name, not so cool.)

  3. And Tyler singing it would be a huge (literally) hit. How on earth do you find time to read so much, Dr. Jolley? Do you have someone read to you while you tighten the braces? Do you not sleep? Are you twins? I demand an explanation. (And am honored my book is at the top of your list).

    • Haha, I don’t require much sleep so I tend to read at night when I’m not writing. I also took a full week off in July and had no cell or internet service the entire trip. I got a lot of reading done. It was awesome.

    • Dude, I’m so excited. I got the first chapter read and then got and email to work on my final edits for Extracted. Now that it’s done I can relax and read it. I’ve been waiting since January!

Leave a Reply

