An Artist of Words

This month, my esteemed colleagues and I have been writing about summer reading – the books we are reading, the books we critique, the inspiration we find in books. JK Rowling, one of literary heroes, wrote in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows that “words are…our most inexhaustible source of magic. Capable of both inflicting injury, and remedying it.” This is exactly how I feel about words, the medium of my art. And it is precisely this that I want to briefly talk about today.

As writers, artists of the written word, we dabble in the world of words, weaving them into stories that can reach someone emotionally, provide a little escape, or insight into a new perspective.

Part of being writers means honing our craft – in this case, the way in which we use words. And what better way to hone the craft, then to read read read.

Summer is when I get the most reading in. No longer reading for work or critting for others, summer is all about finding new books and authors, catching up on the adult books I have been wanting to read, and discovering new ways to fine-tune my craft. I actively seek sources of inspiration for my writing over summer, including books, music, anything that speaks to my inner artist.

Summer is also when I clear out the junk from my everyday life, take stock, and release the barriers that are keeping me from moving forward. Being an artist and someone who is very intense by nature, I tend to get a bit “clogged” in life. So, summer brings the time and the release. I do the same thing around the Holidays.

Okay, but back to the topic of books – this summer I am reading many adult thrillers I have been saving for summer. Dan Brown’s INFERNO, as well as THE LAW OF NINES by Terry Goodkind and others. I am also “cleaning” off my iPad, reading several YA books I have never found the time to read, including Shatter Me and the sequel, The Lies that Bind Us, and others. I have read 4 or 5 books so far, and look forward to reading several more before heading back to work in August.

I am also taking a few road trips to get inspired! Hopefully this will result in a wonderfully productive fall. I guess we’ll see. In the meantime, I’m reading, honing my craft, and feeling inspired!

How about you?

8 thoughts on “An Artist of Words

  1. I’ve been trying to read more, but it’s not easy since I have so many edits to do this summer. But I am really enjoying the books I have read—and now that I think about it, I have read quite a few. 🙂 Thanks for making me realize that. I feel better now.

  2. That;s not a bad take on things Christine. I also like to feel ready to take on new projects in the fall and Summer, with its long days and warm night, often gives us a chance to seek out new experiences in readiness.

Leave a Reply

