Cha-cha-cha changes…

You haven’t seen me around here much lately, and for that I’m deeply sorry. As any author will tell you, you sometimes reach what I like to call ‘project overload’. Between the new projects in outline stages, the projects I’m actively writing, and the nearly finished projects I’m editing, I literally can’t remember what day it is half the time. Add to that the craziness of 4 kids on summer vacation and a whole house remodel, and yowza! But alas, I couldn’t stay away for long.

This month we are talking about transitions. It’s something I’ve been thinking about quite a bit since I got home from BEA. I would like to take a brief moment to thank everyone–all the SHPers, Bloggers, Buyers, Distributers, Editors, and everyone who came out to support EXTRACTED. It was truly one of the best experiences of my life and YOU made that happen, so from the bottom of my heart, thank you!

I began my career writing fan fiction, then moved up to working with my first publisher on my own novels. It was quite an exciting experience, though it still wasn’t quite what I expected. I expected big fat royalty checks, legions of fans, and gnomes who would come over and do my laundry.

Looking back, I suppose my expectations were unrealistic. But that’s normal when you are just starting out. You think you will sign that contract and all your dreams are going to come true. What I actually discovered is this: Publishing is hard. Marketing is harder. Editing makes me want to spork myself in the eye.

So I continued for a few years, writing for small publishers who, while wonderful, didn’t have the ability to get my book where I really wanted it. In the hands of the readers. Then something amazing happened.

I got signed by a larger publisher. One that had hitherto unknown-to-me resources to market, distribute, and generally promote my book. People I’ve never met write me asking about it, and it isn’t even out yet! It’s amazing. I feel very…legitimate. And humbled. I might even have an agent very soon! For someone who has gone this whole process alone, that’s a mind-boggling thought.

More than that, It’s given me the confidence to keep moving forward with my writing. I’m transitioning from an obscure, small press author into something much more. This must be what a butterfly feels like before it breaks out of it’s cocoon. With every book you release, there is nagging self doubt and insecurity. It can cripple some writers–I’ve seen it. But for me, reaching this threshold means turning a corner. Yes, there will always be that fear that no one will like my book or that it will get slaughtered on Goodreads, but I made it this far. I’ve grown and evolved into something better than I was. Hopefully a little better of a writer, hopefully a little more savvy of a promoter, but most of all, I hope I’m a little braver too.

I am, however, still waiting on those laundry gnomes.

Is 11.12.13 too long to wait to get a copy of EXTRACTED? You can enter our Goodreads giveaway! It’s a signed uncorrected Proof paperback straight from BEA! Good luck!

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Extracted by Sherry D. Ficklin

Extracted

by Sherry D. Ficklin

Giveaway ends August 06, 2013.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter to win

7 thoughts on “Cha-cha-cha changes…

  1. Sherry, you know I think you are “Fan-tas-tic!” And just meeting you at BEA I could see that butterfly emerging. You’re going places, woman…just don’t forget the little people you leave behind. LOL! Oh, and send those gnomes over to my house. My laundry is ridiculous!

    Hugs…miss you roomie!
    Michelle

  2. Plain sailing is so boring, Sherry. Think of the stories you’ll have to tell the grandkids. To follow on from your heading:
    Time may change me
    But I can’t trace time

    And we all know what THAT means, right? (If you do, let me know, Bowie is an enigmatic bugger)

Leave a Reply

