Courage

“Disenchantment, whether it is a minor disappointment or a major shock, is the signal that things are moving into transition in our lives.”

William Throsby Bridges

Hi everyone! It feels like forever since I have posted here. Maybe because I managed to forget last month all together. Those of you who know me know how much it bothers me that I would forget. But, things have been in a bit of disarray. I have been living in a place of disenchantment – with my day job, with aspects of real life, and with writing. As a result, I have found myself withdrawing; cocooning to protect myself from whatever it was I was feeling. At least for a little while. Until I understood what was really happening.

Change.

I am smack dab in the middle of a huge period of transition in every aspect of my life. I have arrived at middle-age, am changing careers (albeit back to my previous job), and am moving forward in new directions with my writing. I have one child getting ready to move out and go to college in a year, and another beginning to embrace her teen years. It is a simultaneously exciting and terrifying time for me. And I guess I wouldn’t have it any other way.

It would be easy for me to continue to retreat from the fear I am feeling – accept the status quo and make peace with the mediocre that had defined things in my life for a while now. But, I have never been “that” person. I am not the type to quietly go into the night. No, I prefer to chase down my dreams, holding on with a ferocity I don’t often show. I prefer to reshape and redefine my life, approaching the journey as some kind of amazing adventure. That is who I am, even if that is someone I’ve ignored for a few months/years.

So, I am venturing forward and embracing each transition that comes my way, acknowledging the journey and trying to not run away when the terror strikes. After all, it is in these periods of transition when we catch a glimpse of who we are and who we imagine ourselves to be.

As I started with a quote about transitions, so shall I end:

“A lot of people resist transition and therefore never allow themselves to enjoy who they are. Embrace the change, no matter what it is; once you do, you can learn about the new world you’re in and take advantage of it.”

Nikki Giovanni

How are you with transitions, with change? Do you run for the hills and wait for it to pass? Or do you embrace the inner artist and explorer and venture out into the horizon?

9 thoughts on “Courage

  1. Well said, Christine! I’ve also undergone a lot of change in my life recently, but like you, I’d rather pursue my dreams than go quietly into that good night. That’s why I chose to self-publish and take charge of my dreams. Best of luck to you in pursuing your goals!

  2. You’ll get through this, Christine. As someone who’d had to re-invent herself, relocate several times, sent off a daughter to college and will sending one to a boarding school before she’s 18, I understand how tough it can be. To grow as a person, we must accept these transition.

  3. Welcome back! Sometimes it feels like “transition” is a nice way of saying “train wreck” … Uff … somebody forgot to give us the life manual. Glad to see you here again.

  4. Hi Christine! Good luck with the time of transition. In general, I like change. It keeps me on my toes and helps me stay energized. I try to view it as a sign that I’m moving forward and making progress!! – Joanne

Leave a Reply

