How Did I Get Here?

Coming off of my first ever trip to BEA (Book Expo America) and returning to this month’s topic of transitions, I can’t help but wonder how I got here. How did I become the type of person who’d sign at an event like BEA?

Growing up, I didn’t know you could be a writer. I’m not sure how I thought books magically came to be on the shelves of my favorite stores. As I got older, I decided to use my love of reading and writing to become a teacher. It was a job, and one I thought I could be good at. But after a few years, I knew something was missing. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy teaching. I did. I loved working with kids. But there was a writer lurking inside me, and I couldn’t keep her hidden any longer.

So, when I had my daughter, I went back to school to learn how to write for kids. And even then, I didn’t think I could actually make a living doing this. But I queried anyway. And eventually, I signed with my agent. And that transition from writer to agented writer gave me confidence. My writing improved, and I got my first book deal. And then another. And then another.

Now, I call myself an author. I transitioned to that title, and I couldn’t be happier about it. So while change is scary (sometimes really scary), transitions are really opportunities to succeed in other ways in your life. And because of that, I’ll continue to welcome them in my life.

14 thoughts on “How Did I Get Here?

  1. Amazing, isn’t it, going from a regular person to one that people line up to meet? I guess dreams really do come true πŸ™‚

  2. Good for you that you grabbed the opportunities when they came along. If it scares you, probably a good idea to do it, right?

  3. You’re amazing! It’s scary to put yourself out there and you did it. And did it well! I am so happy to know you and to be able to read what you write! YAY!

Leave a Reply

