Through the looking glass

signing my first contract

signing my first contract

We’ve already reflected on many of transitions you can go through in life. I thought I might blog about the big transition I made a couple of years ago when I became a mother overnight. But I’ve blogged on that at great length at one of my other blogs – Peanut Butter on the Keyboard. So instead I decided to tackle the transition from aspiring author to published author.

It’s been a while since I was unpublished, I sold my first book in June 2004. To that point I had worked for seven years writing pretty seriously, in pursuit of publication and the book I sold was my 5th manuscript. Wow has the industry changed – there are so many options for authors these days, transitional big NYC publishers, smaller boutique publishers, digital only books and self-publishing is now seen as a viable option and not looked down upon as it once was.

When I sold, I expected that once published everything would be different. That somehow with that contract would magically come success and a deeper knowledge and respect and a slew of other things. And some of that certainly happened, but I wasn’t any smarter the day after I accepted that deal than I was the day before.

releases June 18th

releases June 18th

There was a transition to become a published author, but it was not so much what I expected. Instead of making things easier, taking away all the angst that came with rejection, it came with new challenges, bigger and scarier ones that frankly don’t seem to ever go away. It’s much more difficult to write a book now than it was when I wrote those first books as a fledgling writer.

All that said, it was a good transition and I’m glad I made it. There are plenty of writers out there who have chosen different paths and while mine has been fairly rocky, I’m thankful for all of my transitions because they’ve strengthened me as a person and a writer.

So how about you? Have you ever faced a transition that turned out to be not what you expected?

This entry was posted in historical romance, new release, publishing, Robyn DeHart, Victorian historical, writing by robyndehart. Bookmark the permalink.

About robyndehart

A life-long lover of stories and adventure, it was either become a stuntwoman for the movies or live out those adventures from the safety of her PJ's and computer. Award-winning author, Robyn DeHart chose the latter and couldn't be happier for doing so. Known for her unique plotlines and authentic characters, Robyn is a favorite among readers and reviewers. Publishers' Weekly claims her books as "sizzling romance" while the Chicago Tribune dubs her "wonderfully entertaining." Robyn lives in Texas with her brainy husband, two precocious little girls and two spoiled cats.

6 thoughts on “Through the looking glass

  1. Love that: unexpected transition translates to LIFE EXPLOSION! It’s true. The challenges NEVER END. The road never goes downhill. Not for anybody. But I think the most important thing is to keep grounded, keep writing, and when the bomb (transition) happens … have wine on hand!

  2. Friends of mine told me once that parenting was like that too; as soon as you get used to one stage, another stage and another set of challenges develops. I think Heidi has the right idea in keeping grounded and continuing to write.

  3. My thoughts:
    All changes, even the most longed for, have their melancholy; for what we leave behind us is a part of ourselves; we must die to one life before we can enter another.
    Anatole France
    Or
    Change is inevitable – except from a vending machine.
    C’est la vie.

Leave a Reply

