Transitioning

change

Well this month’s topic made me stop and think for a second (and first thing on a Monday morning, that really isn’t a good thing lol). When I think of transitions, I think of change. A change in a life situation (graduating from high school/college/from one grade to another); transitioning from a parent into a grandparent (though you always remain a parent, of course); transitioning from one WIP to the next; from one job to another; from one home to another, etc.

I am the type of person who always says that I like change but, if I’m being really honest with myself, I don’t. Oh, I usually like it after the fact, but that whole transitioning period is often unsettling and disruptive. I generally like my life the way it is. I like where I live, what I do with my days, how my life is going. The funny thing is, once the change has occurred, I generally like the results. It’s that whole transition process I have a hard time with.

It’s hard to say goodbye to what was in order to greet something new. It’s hard to learn new things when you were already so good at the old. It’s hard to pour all your creative energy into creating something new when you are so in love with what you’ve already created.

Transitioning can just be tough. But it’s necessary in order to grow and thrive. Maybe I’m just contrary 😀 I like to move, but I don’t like the moving process. I don’t always like writing, but I like to have written. I don’t like to exercise, but I like to have exercised. LOL I like the end result, it’s the transition I have difficulties with 😉

A few transitions going on in my life right now:

  • My kids are leaving one grade and moving to the next. At the end of the summer, they will be entering third and fourth grade. Which means in two years my oldest will be in middle school. How the hell did that happen so fast!?
  • My stepson and his wife just welcomed their first child which makes me a grandma. A GRANDMA (I’m 36…this one is just hard to swallow lol But, comes with the territory when you marry someone older than you) :).
  • I have started working on the final book of a trilogy. Which means this storyline is almost over. I started writing the first book 5 or so years ago (and then put it aside). But it has been there, somewhere, for half a decade. The thought of being finished with it is somewhat bittersweet.
  • Because of extenuating circumstances, my husband and I have been discussing moving and job situations – for the first time in my life, I really don’t want to move. I’ve always been up for moving. I love new places and new homes. But this is the longest we’ve ever stayed in one place and we REALLY love where we are. But we might not have a choice so for the first time it’s not something I’d look forward to if it should occur.

Transitions…well, they aren’t my favorites. But they are necessary little devils if we want to continue to grow and improve in this life. Best make my peace with them I suppose 🙂

This entry was posted in Michelle McLean and tagged , , , , , by Michelle McLean. Bookmark the permalink.

About Michelle McLean

Romance and non-fiction author Michelle McLean is a jeans and t-shirt kind of girl who is addicted to chocolate and Goldfish crackers and spent most of her formative years with her nose in a book. She has a B.S. in History, a M.A. in English, and loves her romance with a hearty side of suspenseful mystery. When Michelle's not editing, reading or chasing her kids around, she can usually be found in a quiet corner working on her next book. She resides in PA with her husband and two children, an insanely hyper dog, and three very spoiled cats.

10 thoughts on “Transitioning

  1. Oh, Hammy–I hear you. As much as I love to be on the move, I am really a deeply rooted person at heart. I hate finishing a book, I hate saying goodbye to people. At BEA, I was completely worn out and over-stimulated, but it was hard to say goodbye to all the wonderful folks I met and reconnected with. I think what we writers need is two selves–the one who gets out there and meets people, and the quiet comtemplater who’d rather sit under a tree and write. For me, those two selves are always at odds.

    I am currently transitioning from the busy semester to the quieter summer–but yet not really. I have a book to promote! Breaking Glass is coming out July 9th and my blog tour is just kicking into gear. The tree-sitting part of me longs to slow down–but I can’t yet. So I guess I have a multi-faceted transition this year.

    Did I also mention that my son graduated college and is home looking for a job? Daughter is graduating high school and transitioning (rapidly) to college girl. Oh dear! This summer is the mother of all transitions. But–hey–I’ve rode them all out before. You’ll ride yours out, too, Hammy. Enjoy the trip!

    (since I skipped my post due to my post-BEA hangover, I guess I just did a post right here!)

  2. Hi Michelle! The lovely thing about being a grandma is the fact that a BABY arrives with the title, and makes that transition so much nicer :-). Congrats to your family!! I actually really like change, but i also like to be in control of the changes and pick and choose when i want it to happen. And, as we all know, changes don’t always run according to schedule!! But overall, I like the dynamic energy involved in change… it keeps me on my toes and recharges me.

  3. Since I didn’t even become a mother until I was 37, being a grandmother at 36 boggles my mind. Still, you’ll have that much more time and energy to bond with your grandchild.

  4. But you know what? You can handle the change. Someone much more brilliant than me once said: “The meaning of life? It goes on.”

Leave a Reply

