Soaring Over Hurdles

Image

Every writer dreams of coming into publication without obstacles, flying to their book launch with shimmering, flawless wings. But how often does that really happen? More likely is the path that’s riddled with at least a few speed bumps and detours. Obstacles that could easily drive an impatient author to the brink of insanity.

So what’s a writer to do?

The original pub date for My Sister’s Reaper was May 29th. As my pub date got closer, I was worried about a couple things. One was that my link on Barnes and Noble had been up for months without a cover picture. It wasn’t a major worry, but seeing books on the site that had a similar release date with their shiny, dazzling covers presented made me a little antsy. The second thing that worried me was that Amazon still hadn’t had my book up for pre-order at all. I guess this was more annoying than worrisome, because I really wanted to see how well my book would do in that domain. I mean, love or hate Amazon, it still is pretty much one of the biggest go-to site for books. So I guess it didn’t feel quite as real if my book wasn’t up there.

Then came the next speed bump: My Sister’s Reaper was held up in production. The release date would be pushed back to June 18th.

When I got the news, my heart just about stopped. But I had two options: I could freak out and cry and shout and pull my hair out and fall into an alcohol-induced stupor, or I could take a deep breath, nod, and go with it.

I went with option number two.

Instead of wailing over the fact that I had to wait another three weeks for my precious book to come to life, I tried to find the silver lining. Like, at least it was only three weeks. Another writer I know told me how she has to wait a year longer than she expected for her book to come out. Whew! Three weeks is better than a year. Plus, I had come to know that time flies. With all the pre-launch stuff, preparing for blog tours and Book Expo America, time is going to zoom by.

So with a smirk and a shrug, I rush towards my new pub date without breaking down at every hurdle. Instead, I choose to soar over them, take them as they come, knowing that I’m still headed toward the finish line, no matter what.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , by Dorothy Dreyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dorothy Dreyer

Dorothy Dreyer has always believed in magic. She loves reading, writing, movies, and spending time with her family and friends. Half-American and half-Filipino, Dorothy lives in Germany with her husband and two children. She is the author of the young adult paranormal Reaper's Rite series. MY SISTER'S REAPER released June 18th, 2013, from Month9Books. MY TETHERED SOUL releases August 19th, 2014.

6 thoughts on “Soaring Over Hurdles

  1. Ah, publishing. It’s probably a good thing we couldn’t see all the obstacles in our path when we started writing. Now we’re all just too stubborn and road weary to quit. Can’t wait to see you at BEA! I think it’s actually more exciting to have your book come out after–so there’s your silver lining!

  2. The biggest frustration in the publishing industry is Waiting, in all its levels and flavors. Good for you soaring over that hurdle!

  3. Pingback: Soaring Over Hurdles | xxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

