*Cue Jaws Theme Song* Unseen Danger Ahead

So this month’s topic is, “Mayday, mayday! Obstacles, unseen dangers and challenges.”

I can’t help but think this topic is eery in its timing considering some bumps in the publishing road I’ve encountered lately. I’ve been thrown several curve balls, some expected and some definitely not. And if I’ve learned anything from them it’s that:

1. Every writer needs a support group. Seriously. I think I would have lost my mind if I didn’t have my writer friends to vent to. I’m pretty sure that’s while all the writers of yore were alcoholics. All I can say is thank goodness for my writer peeps!

2. Have a plan B. Nothing is certain in this industry, not even things you think are contracted and set in stone. I was a big horseback rider in my youth and one of my instructors spent an entire day teaching us the right way to fall so as not to injure ourselves if we were bucked from a horse. I think writers need to similarly prepare for the unexpected just in case something does happen the blow won’t be rehabilitating.

3. Remember this is fun. Because it should be. Isn’t that why each of us became writers in the first place? And if it feels like the fun is gone, then maybe it’s a good time to step away from the keyboard and recharge.

And because I don’t want to leave a post on such a serious note, stay tuned until my next post when I should be able to reveal some super exciting news! Oh, and that leads me to my last point:

4. Always, ALWAYS, celebrate your successes–no matter how small. Life’s too short to not celebrate!

Have a great Memorial Day and make sure to thank a vet!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by colegibsen. Bookmark the permalink.

About colegibsen

When Cole Gibsen isn't writing books for young adults, she can be found rocking out with her band, sewing crazy costumes for the fun of it, picking off her nail polish, or drinking milk straight from the jug -- provided no one is looking. She is the author of the young adult KATANA series (Flux) of which the sequel, SENSHI, will release March 8th, 2013 in a bookstore near you.

4 thoughts on “*Cue Jaws Theme Song* Unseen Danger Ahead

Leave a Reply

