Failure Is Not An Option

It may be a bit ridiculous for me to come before you, fresh off the release of my first novel, at the age of twenty-one years old, and talk about failure. It almost feels wrong for me to address the topic of failure, seeing how much success I have Thank G-d seen since I began my journey as a writer. Shattered Illusions came to life, and literally took over my entire being, two weeks shy of my eighteenth birthday. Since then, I have seen endless doors opened for me, some which people who have struggled in the publishing world for years cannot say they have seen. I have had the generosity of many bestowed on me, friends and strangers alike. I have not known failure in the way that many people would categorize failure, but it has been the underlying factor in the drive behind my success. Failure is not something one should fear, but rather, quite the opposite. Failure is something that one should embrace, for it is often times behind the failure where a person will find their greatest opportunities lay.

There were many people rooting for me when I began this journey. At the same time, there were many people who awaited the day where I would stand before them, sad and pathetic, with nothing to show for myself but a half written manuscript and a jumble of dreams. When I told people that I was writing a novel, they shrugged me off, assuming that I was going through a phase that would quickly pass, and that soon enough, I would find something else to occupy my time. Such was not the case, but it took a lot of time for me to figure out how to hold my own without letting the petty people get to me.

My biggest failure came from within myself. The failure wasn’t that I had failed in writing a book, or had failed to bring it to life, but simply, that I failed to give myself credit where credit was due. I didn’t look at myself as a success, because I was looking at it from the world’s point of view. True, according to the world, you have to sell 500,000,000 copies of whatever product your promoting and have a world tour with Beyonce in order to considered successful. But then again, completing a novel is a huge feat, one that not many people can say they have achieved. ‘Failing’ in this way give me room to grow as a person. This journey taught me exactly what kind of person I am. I learned not to look at myself through the eyes of the rest of the world, but through my own eyes. In this way, my ‘failure’ was also my greatest success. I learned what it meant to be ‘me’ based on my definition rather than that of the rest of the world. What greater success can there be than coming to understand and respect yourself? So, perhaps it was not a failure after all…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by leighesther. Bookmark the permalink.

About leighesther

​​​​​​Leigh Hershkovich's writing career began almost at infancy. Born and raised in The City By The Bay, Leigh was never seen without a pen and paper by her side, and was never without a story to share. With her vivid imagination and sharp writing tactics, Leigh has taken the world by storm twice over. Now, with her debut novel Shattered Illusions, readers will get a first time glimpse into her first full fiction attempt. ​ An avid reader, accomplished pianist, passionate scholar of language and the arts, Leigh currently resides in New York with her imagination.

2 thoughts on “Failure Is Not An Option

  1. I really think that even failure is success. We just might not see it that way at the time. But there are so many things that are successes. Finishing a novel, sending that first query, getting an acceptance, holding your book for the first time, your first sale. Sure they aren’t the same as becoming a NY Times best seller, but they are still successes and deserve to be celebrated.

  2. You make good points about failure coming from inside of yourself and that learning to respect yourself is the greatest success there is.

Leave a Reply

