To Write, or Eat Donuts, that is the Question.

The topic this month is “Mayday, Mayday: obstacles, unseen dangers and challenges.” My biggest challenge is life. Well, not life itself, but finding balance in life. I have a busy career, a bunch of kids and lots of hobbies. So, my friends, let’s go on a picture tour of the things I do instead of writing.

Baseball
Four hour drive each way to a Rockies game, why not?

Comic Book
Working on the first chapter of Extracted but in comic book form…so that sort of counts as writing.

Donuts
Some people get distracted by shiny things, I get distracted by fattening things.

Hunting
Much to the dismay of my office (and to the dismay of the birds) I require many hunting trips.

Reading
Writers have to read.

Rock Jam
Deep down, I’m a rocker at heart

Snowboarding
Can’t write on the slopes.

Tractor
Home, home on the range, where writing is impossible.

Warrior Princess
To write, or play with my warrior princess? Is that even a real question?

Work
Oh yeah, work

Work 2
Two of my four offices are about an hour away, so that commute really chips into my writing time.

So, I , like everyone have a busy life outside of my writing life…but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

This entry was posted in Tyler Jolley, work habits, writing by tylerhjolley. Bookmark the permalink.

About tylerhjolley

I was born in the era of the Star Wars and the Indiana Jones sagas. I’ve been enamored with science fiction and adventure stories ever since. In order to support my hobby of writing I decided to pursue dentistry. I graduated from Nova Southeastern University School of Dental Medicine in 2002. I then completed a four year orthodontic and periodontic residency at the University of Pennsylvania. In June 2006, I opened a private practice, Jolley Smiles, in Grand Junction, Colorado. I now have a total of four offices located in Grand Junction, Fruita, Montrose and Delta. Snowboarding, mountain biking, road biking, fly fishing, bird hunting, camping, hiking, and backpacking are the things I enjoy doing with my family. I also enjoy lecturing internationally on temporary orthodontic implants. Some of my journal articles have also been published in the Journal of Clinical Orthodontics. However, my true passion has always been fiction writing. When life gets stressful I escapes to unseen worlds to find relaxation. My career has been the vehicle to let me write without worry. I find inspiration from most of my adolescent patients. I continue to dream up fun and thrilling books to this day.

8 thoughts on “To Write, or Eat Donuts, that is the Question.

  1. You just put the biggest smile on my face. I love this post! I say eat your donuts, hunt, spend time with your family, and read. The job, well, I’m with you there, it’s a necessity, unfortunately. BUT, please do write at some point, we must hear your stories! LOL! Oh, and is that comic book going to be published? B/c I would be all over that for sure! – Brooke (The Cover Contessa)

  2. If a picture is worth a thousand words, then you’ve got quite a nice essay here! Yes, it’s important to do non-writing things, both for balance of life and to have something to write about. That said, if there’s a will to write, there’s a way.

  3. We drove almost that far to see our hockey team play in Ottawa the other night… it was fun even if we had to root against the home team (yikes!). Nice to make good family memories!

Leave a Reply

