Obstacles – Put ‘Em Where They REALLY Belong!

Image

First – HAPPY MOTHERS DAY to all the moms out there!

Now, May-day! May-day! That’s our theme this month. I’ve seen a lot of awesome posts on obstacles writers have to deal with. But you know what? I say forget those! Keep on truckin’ and in the meantime? Throw some REAL obstacles at your characters because that’ll make you feel a whole lot better!

I do love torturing my characters. Don’t get me wrong, happy endings are awesome. But I make ’em deserve it. If they can survive what I put them through, then more power to them. And that conflict is what makes a satisfying story. It challenges your characters and is what causes them to evolve. The worse the situation for that particular character, the better. And it should be on EVERY. SINGLE. PAGE.

So the next time a rejection or writers block gets you down, just dangle your character over an erupting volcano (bet you were wondering about the pic). It may not revisions, but at least it’ll make you feel better (and it IS a great cure for writers block too).

What’s the worst thing you’ve ever done to a character?

11 thoughts on “Obstacles – Put ‘Em Where They REALLY Belong!

  1. Great post! I have to admit it was hard being mean to my characters at first, because I cared for them and didn’t want them to suffer. But it’s only by making them undergo trials that they prove their mettle. As for the worst thing I’ve done to a character, I’d have to say that would be killing off my hero’s mom, making him feel indirectly responsible for her death, and letting him discover he’s a clone all at once in Twinned Universes. Even worse is coming in the next book…heh heh heh….

  2. A brilliant writer once said, “If you can’t put your characters in hot water, you end up with nothin’ but weak tea and that doesn’t even leave a mark.” (I wish that had been me. It was Kim Harrison, NY ComiCon 2012)

Leave a Reply

