Mayday, Mayday! Obstacles, unseen dangers and challenges…

Our topic for May is all about what gets in the way of our writing. Each of us at Scene 13 have different ideas as to what is the biggest problem for the writer and the writing life, but I feel one thing, above all else, can be the biggest obstacle to the writer—real life.

When I think back to the start of my writing and journey to get published, nothing could stop me cold like a real life event. Sometimes good, sometimes bad, but anytime something significant happens, writing can take a backseat.

What have some of these things been for me?

When my beloved cat died, I couldn’t write for weeks. I was so filled with sorrow that I just didn’t have it in me write.

Vacations. I love going away, but packing, preparing, vacationing, and returning home/unpacking all take me away from my writing.

Home renovations/spring cleaning/every day cleaning. As much as I wish I could do nothing but write, some things just have to get done—laundry, dishes, feeding the family!

Day job stress. We all have bad days at work, but sometimes, after a hard day, I just don’t feel like writing.

Family/friends events. It’s always great to get away from the keyboard for a while and talk to real people about something other than writing, but in the back of my mind, I think about the writing time I’m losing.

What about you? What gets in your way of writing as much as you would like?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Kimmy :). Bookmark the permalink.

About Kimmy :)

Kimberly Miller received Bachelor's degrees from Georgian Court University and Rutgers University and a Master's degree from The University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey. She is an avid reader and particularly enjoys true crime and young adult novels. She grew up in New Jersey and currently resides in Monmouth County with her husband and three cats. When she’s not writing, she loves to travel to sunny islands where she snorkels by day and stargazes by night. She always takes her Nook with her.

6 thoughts on “Mayday, Mayday! Obstacles, unseen dangers and challenges…

  1. The trials and tribulations are a nuisance. I think it helps to accept that everything that happens somehow informs our writing. That way, at least, most obstacles can be assuaged by chalking them up to experience.

  2. I volunteer at my daughter’s school and that cuts into my writing and editing time. But I love seeing her at school with her friends, so I just stay up a little later at night to meet deadlines.

  3. I think, so far, the biggest thing besides my day job that is getting in the way of my writing is promoting the release of my book! I really want to know how people manage this. I’m figuring that once the book tour and the release date has passed, I can actually write something new–but then I need to start promoting and revising the one due out next year! Oh, my, my.

Leave a Reply

