The Challenges Never Stop

When I was querying agents, I thought all my dreams would magically happen once I got that offer. What can I say? I’m an optimist. And while I did accomplish that goal, I quickly realized the challenge didn’t end there. Next I went out on submission, and I got my share of rejections. And even after I signed my first book deal, I faced the challenge of trying to build my brand and get people interested in my book. Everywhere I turned, there was another challenge in front of me.

And now that I have books out in the world… If you guessed I’m facing more challenges, you are absolutely correct. I’m out there promoting and trying to work on new books at the same time, which is… Yup, you guessed it! Challenging!

What’s the lesson here? No matter what, you’re always going to face challenges, but they’re what the journey is about. So I’ve learned to embrace them. It won’t be easy, but I’ll get everything done because that’s what writers do.

What challenges have you faced lately?

This entry was posted in Kelly Hashway, mayhem by Kelly Hashway. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kelly Hashway

I'm the author of the Touch of Death series (Spencer Hill Press, 2013), the Birth of the Phoenix series (Month9Books, 2014), and The Monster Within (Spencer Hill Press, 2014) . I'm proudly represented by Sarah Negovetich of Corvisiero Literary Agency.

10 thoughts on “The Challenges Never Stop

  1. May can be a challenging month sometimes in that addition to everything else I have to do, I have to prepare for WisCon and my son’s birthday party. At least they’re good things to plan.

  2. I love how we all keep raising the bar–first we just want an agent, then a contract, then–heaven help us–sales! I’m confronting the marketing-while-writing challenge this spring … as a former boss of mine used to say, that’s a good problem to have!

  3. Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt creep in. Forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it well and serenely. โ€“ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

