Spring Cleaning: The writer way

After having just completed an insane deadline, I’m now faced with the age-old question: What should I work on next. I’m sure I’m not alone in that I like to keep a notebook full of ideas for future writing projects. 

Going through my notebook, I realized there were several commercially viable options. But there was also another idea–you know the one. It’s the idea you can’t stop thinking about, the one with the characters that won’t shut up, and the plot that makes your fingers tingle in anticipation of a keyboard. The only problem is, I know this project might be a tougher sell. 

It’s spring and that means it’s a time of new beginnings  So the question is, do you work on the idea you know would sell no problem, or the one you feel the most passionate about? Please leave your thoughts in the comments. I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by colegibsen. Bookmark the permalink.

About colegibsen

When Cole Gibsen isn't writing books for young adults, she can be found rocking out with her band, sewing crazy costumes for the fun of it, picking off her nail polish, or drinking milk straight from the jug -- provided no one is looking. She is the author of the young adult KATANA series (Flux) of which the sequel, SENSHI, will release March 8th, 2013 in a bookstore near you.

5 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning: The writer way

  1. I’d write the project that’s calling me. If you can’t sell it to traditional publishers, you could publish it yourself and let the story find its audience that way.

  2. I always work on the story with the loudest characters at the time. If another story’s characters start squalling, I move to them. Just like feeding the birds 🙂

Leave a Reply

