“Three Things & a Cupcake” Interview with our own Leigh Hershkovich

Lena Goldfinch here:

Over on my personal blog, I sporadically post author interviews under the theme “Three Things & a Cupcake.” I post everything sort of sporadically over there, actually. (Sorry, World! ;))

Three Things about Leigh and her debut novel, Shattered Illusions

Shattered Illusions by Leigh Hershkovich

Leigh’s cover reveal happens to be today, so look what I get to share!!!

  1. I came up for the idea behind Shattered Illusions while I was in a car traveling with my family from the North of Israel to the South. I had a stomach flu, and between that and in the immense heat, I was a bit delusional. I was reading a fantastic book called The Angel’s Game when the idea suddenly struck me like a bolt of lightening. It took me four months to convince myself that the idea was valid and not based on the other realm I found myself in due to the pain and the heat.
  2. I started writing Shattered Illusions when I was seventeen and completed it three weeks after my twentieth birthday.
  3. The characters of Shattered Illusions are loosely based on people that I had met throughout my childhood.

My favorite fantasy cupcake would be a Fountainhead themed cupcake complete with mini-figures of the characters and blue prints of some of their creations.

Lena again:

Wow, the story of your inspiration for Shattered Illusions is amazing. Also, that you started it at as a teen is impressive (but then teens are amazing–a well-known fact). Finishing it proves you’re a professional writer. And finding a great publisher is icing on the…cupcake. (Sorry, it happens. ;))

Okay, I rather foolishly bragged to Leigh that I had once found an Edgar-Allan-Poe-themed cupcake for an interview, so I suspect she tried to stump me. Actually, I admit, the vast photo database of the interwebs failed me, just this once. I found a tribute cake to Ayn Rand, but nary a cupcake. (I know, right??) But, not to be deterred, I bring you my own version of Fountainhead Cupcake…

Lena's Fountainhead Cupcake

Lena’s Fountainhead Cupcake–get it??
(Photo credits: Book image (Signet), Cupcake (Kristin_A, Meringue Bake Shop, Flickr Creative Commons))

Thanks for playing along, Leigh! I wish you all the best with your new release (squee!!).
Learn more about Leigh & her books at www.leighhershkovich.com or visit her Goodreads page.
This entry was posted in Leigh Herschkovich, Lena Goldfinch, new release, publishing and tagged , , by Lena Goldfinch. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lena Goldfinch

LENA GOLDFINCH writes heartwarming romance and romantic fantasy for adults and teens. She's a sucker for a good old-fashioned romance, whether it's a novel, novella, or short story, young adult or adult, fantasy or realistic, contemporary or historical. Elements of romance, fantasy, and mystery have a way of creeping into her writing, whether she's writing historicals or something light and contemporary. Her works include: HISTORICAL ROMANCE THE BRIDES SERIES: * The Unexpected Bride * Sleigh Bells & Mistletoe (A Short Story) * The Bartered Bride * Only the Heart Knows FANTASY ROMANCE FOR ADULTS / YOUNG ADULTS / TEENS * Aire * Songstone * The Language of Souls CONTEMPORARY YOUNG ADULT THE HAUNTING JOY SERIES: * Haunting Joy: Books 1 & 2 * Chain Reaction: A Short Story (Prequel to Book 2) CONTEMPORARY YOUNG ADULT ROMANCE * Take a Picture: A Novella Visit her online at http://www.Lena Goldfinch.com

5 thoughts on ““Three Things & a Cupcake” Interview with our own Leigh Hershkovich

  1. Congrats, Leigh! Great, now I’m thinking about cupcake for breakfast. Good thing my son doesn’t know I brought one home for him yesterday.

Leave a Reply

