When You’re Having 2nd’s I’m Having 23rd’s

Spring always makes me think of two things, mountain biking and spring break bodies. I have the amazing ability to consume thousands of calories in a matter of minutes; it’s a talent really. In my early years I could exercise my talent with little consequences. Until I realized something was wrong when I went to Brazil and looked at all my pictures. Yikes! This reality came after living four years in Philly with a regular diet of cheesesteaks and tasty kakes.

fat

After I returned home from Brazil and got back in my routine the fat melted off faster than butter on a hot skillet. I do love butter.

Tyler Hunting

As I got older I started an intentional routine every year: fatten up in the winter and get back in shape when mountain biking season rolled around. It was perfect and seemed to work just fine for me. But as I’ve gotten older, had more kids and gotten busier with life, I find there isn’t much time left for biking.

So now I’m faced with the dilemma of not utilizing my impressive ability to eat 24 doughnut holes in 12 minutes because I’ve run out of time to mountain bike. Maybe I should eat and bike at the same time or I’ll have to become Man-orexic.

Does anyone else fatten up in the winter and lean up in the spring?

This entry was posted in Tyler Jolley and tagged by tylerhjolley. Bookmark the permalink.

About tylerhjolley

I was born in the era of the Star Wars and the Indiana Jones sagas. I’ve been enamored with science fiction and adventure stories ever since. In order to support my hobby of writing I decided to pursue dentistry. I graduated from Nova Southeastern University School of Dental Medicine in 2002. I then completed a four year orthodontic and periodontic residency at the University of Pennsylvania. In June 2006, I opened a private practice, Jolley Smiles, in Grand Junction, Colorado. I now have a total of four offices located in Grand Junction, Fruita, Montrose and Delta. Snowboarding, mountain biking, road biking, fly fishing, bird hunting, camping, hiking, and backpacking are the things I enjoy doing with my family. I also enjoy lecturing internationally on temporary orthodontic implants. Some of my journal articles have also been published in the Journal of Clinical Orthodontics. However, my true passion has always been fiction writing. When life gets stressful I escapes to unseen worlds to find relaxation. My career has been the vehicle to let me write without worry. I find inspiration from most of my adolescent patients. I continue to dream up fun and thrilling books to this day.

11 thoughts on “When You’re Having 2nd’s I’m Having 23rd’s

  1. Depends on the weather. If we have skiable snow, I’m fine. If I have to rely on the nordic trak and exercise bike, not so much. A young dog helps, too–right now we’re in old dog phase (*snif*) and the walks are slower and shorter. (Notice how I blame circumstances rather than myself?)

    • Dude, I’m the same way. I always blame the circumstance and not the fact that I ate two breakfasts then had cake for dessert at lunch. I also blame water, I’m convinced that water makes me fat.

  2. That title is perfect! Weird Al is great.

    To answer your question, I haven’t noticed any seasonal weight changes. My husband and I went on Weight Watchers last year, so I lost about 30 pounds. Now all I have to do is keep it off for the rest of my life. 😉

  3. Too funny! I think it’s natural to fatten up for the winter– our bodies need the extra insulation!

    But with the invention of electricity and temperature-efficient housing, I think I prefer not to carry more than I must. Pretty amazing you can burn it off so quickly! It’s all I can do maintain a so-so weight. Takes me years to lose a pound, but I can gain five over the course of a fun weekend. Sigh.

    Not sure I’d enjoy being a gym rat. I’d have to give up some writing time. LOL

  4. I wish I had a season for fattening up. *sigh* LOL Although for me, it’s been the past year… I’ve lost 37 pounds in totality –with a few spikes up here and there — but overall, it’s good progress. But as you get older, fighting those pounds get more difficult…and that usually just makes me want ice cream. Neverending. LOL

Leave a Reply

