Of misery and springtime

A-Little-Bit-Sinful-800-166x250It’s spring. For some of you that might mean that you’ve still got snow, but here in Central Texas everything is blooming. The world is green and it’s beautiful and I’m miserable. Spring means allergies, at least for me. I’m itchy and sneezy and wheezy and drippy – really the worst of the Seven Dwarfs. But y’all probably don’t want to hear me describe my allergy woes, so instead I’ll talk of new beginnings because that’s what spring is, right?  (this is my new book so I have to stick it in here so you’ll get my subliminal message & go buy it – go ahead…I’ll wait…)

Well, for writers we get new beginnings all the time. They come in the form of new books, new story ideas, first chapters and the like. Like spring, the beginnings of books kinda make me miserable. I know lots of writers who love beginnings. They love them so much they have 40 manuscripts started and they never finish any of them because they get a rush out of that first blush of a story. For me, the beginning is like wading through molasses, I know I’m going somewhere, but it’s murky and slow and sticky and really uncomfortable. But I keep going because just around the corner is my favorite part….ready for it?

The middle! Okay I know some of you writers out there are scratching your heads thinking I’m totally nuts. You’re probably right (on so many levels) but hear me out. The middle is where the characters start falling into place, the plot starts moving and all the exciting (and sexy) stuff happens. If there’s a villain then he (or she) is causing all kinds of trouble and the hero and heroine and stuck together trying to solve a problem, find a treasure, catch a killer or just trying not to kill each other. It’s all the good stuff. We read the beginnings of books to get to know the characters so we can get to the middle cause that’s where the story is at. (how’s that for great grammar?!)

So how about you? Are you a fan of Spring or are you suffering with allergies like me? And if you’re a writer, what’s your favorite part of the book?

This entry was posted in Characters, Entangled Scandalous, historical romance, new release, Robyn DeHart, Victorian historical, writing by robyndehart. Bookmark the permalink.

About robyndehart

A life-long lover of stories and adventure, it was either become a stuntwoman for the movies or live out those adventures from the safety of her PJ's and computer. Award-winning author, Robyn DeHart chose the latter and couldn't be happier for doing so. Known for her unique plotlines and authentic characters, Robyn is a favorite among readers and reviewers. Publishers' Weekly claims her books as "sizzling romance" while the Chicago Tribune dubs her "wonderfully entertaining." Robyn lives in Texas with her brainy husband, two precocious little girls and two spoiled cats.

8 thoughts on “Of misery and springtime

  1. I have year-round allergies, so I’m never safe. LOL

    I love beginnings, middles, and ends. Call me crazy, but that’s why I write. I enjoy all of it. Beginnings are new and exciting, middles are the core of the story (and where I put my poor MC through hell), and endings are how things come to a close for my beloved characters. I need them all. 🙂

  2. I was laughing through your entire post, Robyn, and decided that I seriously need to meet you at some point in life. Sorry about those allergies! I’m a little like you in thatI really struggle with beginnings. I hate starting new stuff and love reworking stuff that is already nicely polished. Like Michelle–I kind of love editing–because I get to hang out with characters I know well, rather than meeting new ones. And now I am facing one of the newest beginnings ever. I am going to attempt to take the paranormal out of my half-written WIP and go totally–uh–bare. A supernatural free zone. Scary, scary, scary–scarier than the creepiest tale I’ve ever written. Don’t even ask me why–it’s complicated. Or you can ask me–but not on here. 🙂

  3. Beginnings TERRIFY ME because once you start, you know you’re in for a year or two or THREE of mad writing and revising. Kind of like dating. I don’t want to go out there again … ever. Beginnings are insecure and unstable and … HARD. I LOVE that by the time I’m in the middle I actually am starting to know my characters then, inevitably, rewrite the beginning. HAPPY WRITING! Happy allergy meds!

  4. I love the first chapter and I adore revision–in between, it’s love-hate all the way. I will procrastinate at the slightest excuse, so have to make a rule that I can’t eat lunch unless I’ve drafted 1,000 words. I envy anyone who skims through the first draft with a song in your heart!

  5. I find the beginning the hardest to write–you’re trying to get so much information in there, without overhwelming the reader. But there’s a huge rush of energy with starting a first draft. The middle’s usually easier to write technically, but that’s also where I have to put my head down, and tell myself that I’m just going to write this much today, this much tomorrow and not even think about the rest of it. By the ending I’m exhausted emotionally, but the story is coming to this glorious crescendo. But–even though fall is worse for me–I can sympathize completely with the allergies!

  6. During the first draft, I write like a maniac and throw all sorts of crazy ideas out there. My beginnings stay the same, as do the endings, but the middle is where I get to change things up. It’s like taking the scenic route; I know where I’m going, but I want to have some fun along the way.

Leave a Reply

