Spring Resolutions

file000595821517I know New Year’s is the popular time for resolutions; I usually make a few myself at that time of year. But for some reason, I usually don’t have the motivation to stick to them until spring hits. Maybe it’s hard to stick to difficult goals in the dead of winter. Spring time, on the other hand, is a natural time to regenerate and renew.

I get the spring cleaning bug like crazy, and it tends to trickle down to all other aspects of my life. There’s something about the warmer weather that makes me want to get EVERYTHING cleaned and organized.

Now I’m the type of person who just thinks better when I’m in tidy and organized surroundings (this might explain why I’m a total scatterbrain most of the time lol). So when

I really dig in with that spring cleaning and start getting my house in order, it kick starts my creativity. I’m more motivated and excited to dive into new projects or finish old ones. I’m excited to make new goals and brainstorm new projects. I’ll get real ambitious and decide that not only will I crank out at least 3000 words a day, but I’ll do it after waking up early to get in a full workout (this one doesn’t pan out often….).

There is just something about the warming weather, the shining sun, the flowers blooming and singing birds that INSPIRES me. And so my real goals and resolutions for the year are set – and, more often than not, are stuck to.

Clean house and keep up with it
Be healthier
Work smarter and be more productive
Get EVERYTHING in life more organized

file0001374863409For me, spring cleaning isn’t just an opportunity to get my house in order. It’s an opportunity to get my life in order. There’s nothing like making a fresh start with the sun shining on my face 🙂

This entry was posted in Michelle McLean and tagged , , , , by Michelle McLean. Bookmark the permalink.

About Michelle McLean

Romance and non-fiction author Michelle McLean is a jeans and t-shirt kind of girl who is addicted to chocolate and Goldfish crackers and spent most of her formative years with her nose in a book. She has a B.S. in History, a M.A. in English, and loves her romance with a hearty side of suspenseful mystery. When Michelle's not editing, reading or chasing her kids around, she can usually be found in a quiet corner working on her next book. She resides in PA with her husband and two children, an insanely hyper dog, and three very spoiled cats.

11 thoughts on “Spring Resolutions

  1. The thought of you getting even MORE ambitious and motivated is truly alarming. Where is there room in your mind for even more ideas? Seriously, folks, you have no idea, lol. What you need are extra hours–maybe 26 hour days so you can fit in a little extra sleep?

  2. I am much the same way, Michelle…especially when it comes to my kitchen. I literally cannot do much of anything if there are dishes on the counter or sink 🙂 Wonderful post!

  3. Boy could I use order … I feel the same, though you wouldn’t know it from the bombshell of clutter in my house! Sigh … Can anybody send me Sheldon Cooper to organize my home? And … ideas!

  4. It does feel like a time of renewal, doesn’t it! Those are pretty much my resolutions, too, Michelle. (Heidi, I was wishing for Sheldon Cooper just this morning. My office floor has a path from door to desk, but otherwise it’s all books and stacks of paper. Gah!)

Leave a Reply

