How Do You Know It’s Luck?

photo

For our characters, luck and coincidence are bad things. We want everything to connect, be earned, and have a reason or it feels like a plot device. But in our lives it’s a different story.

Everything is possible and there doesn’t have to be a reason – at least an obvious one – for it. Sometimes luck is tricky, it’s disguised as disappointment.

My story? I feel like I’m still in the middle of it! But that’s half the fun, right? Hang on for a roller coaster ride.

I got lucky, I found a super agent almost right away. Then bad luck, went on submission and didn’t sell. Good luck, published lots of short stories and poetry on my own in the meantime. Bad luck, a couple of those small publishers have gone out of business. Good luck, I made some of my most meaningful friendships through writing. Bad luck, was told paranormal is a tough sell. Good luck, was offered publication by small indie press that I’d already published with (and had good response) who really gets my work.

Lesson? If I hadn’t been rejected by a few of the big guys I wouldn’t be publishing THE BINDING STONE this year with a house where I am top priority and with people I both respect and work well with.

Do I consider myself lucky overall? You betcha! But only in the sense that I’m doing what I love and making awesome friends doing it. The rest is hard work and perseverance!

“Remember that sometimes not getting what you want is a wonderful stroke of luck.”

― Dalai Lama XIV

8 thoughts on “How Do You Know It’s Luck?

  1. Sounds like you’ve had highs and lows, but the highs are definitely outweighing the lows. I don’t know if that’s from luck (more likely it’s because you’re talented) but it’s definitely a good thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

