A Little Luck Never Hurt, But Perseverance Is Key

I’m Irish, so I can’t say I don’t believe in luck. I do. I think some people are lucky. I know writers who queried one agent and signed with them. That’s right, first query and no rejections. That’s lucky. I’m not that lucky. But that’s okay because I refused to give up until I got what I wanted. I queried on and off for 13 months before I found the perfect agent for me. (Hi, Lauren!) I used what I learned along the way and revised until I had a manuscript worthy of representation. And you know? I learned a lot, and I’m happy I went through that.

There’s a huge part of me that really believes you can’t fully appreciate something if you don’t work hard for it. All the tears I cried, all the hours I logged revising, all the classes I took, and all the rejections I collected made that “Yes!” that much more incredible. I cried again, but this time the tears were from happiness, relief, and a little bit of “I can’t believe I did it!” Looking back, I wouldn’t want to skip over the tears and rejections and just go right to signing with my agent. That experience taught me that you have to work at what you want.

Now, I have my agent and two books published with more on the way. Do I feel lucky? You bet! But even so, I’ll continue to persevere because I know that’s what got me here.

My Books

This entry was posted in Kelly Hashway by Kelly Hashway. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kelly Hashway

I'm the author of the Touch of Death series (Spencer Hill Press, 2013), the Birth of the Phoenix series (Month9Books, 2014), and The Monster Within (Spencer Hill Press, 2014) . I'm proudly represented by Sarah Negovetich of Corvisiero Literary Agency.

18 thoughts on “A Little Luck Never Hurt, But Perseverance Is Key

  1. Awesome, Kelly. If I’d known you before your breakthrough I would have known you were unstoppable even then. So proud of you and your accomplishments and what is yet to come!

  2. The great thing about writing as a career path is that every experience turns out to be educational and beneficial. (“Oh, so that’s what it feels like to have a toe cut off!”) (Not really.)

  3. I’m a firm believer in the 10,000 hour rule. I suppose you’d call that perseverance. Rejections are just business with a note to self–do it better next time. An so many Irish here. (Us Welsh are lucky too, forever swimming around in our lucky rain! –i was six before I realized I could actually take off my cagoule). There’s a lot more to come from you, too, Kelly, I can feel it in my water.

  4. I wonder sometimes if it’s the perseverance that makes our luck. I don’t know. I do know if a person believes he/she has to keep working towards what they dream. It may turn out differently than they thought originally, but if they given up they will never know.

Leave a Reply

