1 + 1 + 1 = 9 (at least for now…)

Many years ago, when I first started writing, I was told that to become a published author you needed, luck, perseverance and talent. Now this bit of advice came with a BUT, you only needed to have 2 of the 3. So you could have luck and talent or perseverance and luck, etc., etc. I’d actually argue though that to stay published you really need all three. So here’s my story…

It was June 14, 2004 and I was with my mom at lunch, so I just happened to have 
my ringer turned up on my cell phone. I noticed the area code on the caller ID and I
 had just read about a fellow chapter mate noticing the same thing and how 212
 meant NYC. So I immediately started to panic. When I answered she asked for me 
and said that it was Kelly from Avon and that this was, “the call.” She loved my book 
and wanted to offer me a 2-book deal.

my first published book

my first published book

Holy cow! My hands were shaking like crazy and I mouthed to my mom what was
 going on and she started jumping up and down and holding her hand over her
 mouth to keep from screaming. I remembered vaguely that I needed to write things 
down, so I grabbed an envelope and jotted everything down on the back. I wish I had 
been more coherent to hear all the glowing things she said about my writing and the 
book, but I was listening for number details so I would have info to give my top
-choice agent when I hung up the phone. You see at this point I didn’t have an agent. 
I’d been trying for a while and had no luck, that’s why I’d started submitting to
 editors.

So I hung up the phone, jumped around with my mom for a bit and called my agent
 choice and left her a voice mail with the details. Then I called a myriad of people –
boyfriend (now husband), critique partners, dad, sister, etc. Then I had to go back to
 my (then) day job. ACK! So I reluctantly went back to work, but I was excited and dazed
 and shocked. I told all my co-workers and they were all very excited as well. Then 
the agent called back and we discussed details, she offered representation, then she
 called Kelly back to finalize the details of the offer.

So that day, I had woken up with 5 completed manuscripts and having written for 7
 years and yet another frustrating day having not heard anything from NYC and that 
night I went to bed as a multi-published author – or at least contracted as such. For
 all the difficulties in this business, the highs are pretty stinking high!

Now, 9 years later, I’ve published 8 books (plus one novella) and have 3 more coming out this year. And frankly I still think it takes a little bit of luck, a good measure of talent and a huge helping of perseverance to stay in this business.

This entry was posted in luck, perseverence, publishing, Robyn DeHart, writing by robyndehart. Bookmark the permalink.

About robyndehart

A life-long lover of stories and adventure, it was either become a stuntwoman for the movies or live out those adventures from the safety of her PJ's and computer. Award-winning author, Robyn DeHart chose the latter and couldn't be happier for doing so. Known for her unique plotlines and authentic characters, Robyn is a favorite among readers and reviewers. Publishers' Weekly claims her books as "sizzling romance" while the Chicago Tribune dubs her "wonderfully entertaining." Robyn lives in Texas with her brainy husband, two precocious little girls and two spoiled cats.

11 thoughts on “1 + 1 + 1 = 9 (at least for now…)

  1. I think so many writers focus on just making the first sale that they don’t think about planning a long-term career. Glad to see that you’ve managed to achieve one. BTW, Kristine Kathryn Rusch offers a lot of advice regarding long-term writing careers on her blog. I highly recommend it to all writers.

  2. Pingback: The numbers game | Scene 13ers

Leave a Reply

