What Creates Literary Love? Heck If I Know.

So, what makes one love reading? What makes one love it so much that they want to write?

If only the answers, to one or both questions, were easy. The reasons for wanting to read are as varied as the readers out there, ranging from a thirst for knowledge, to a desire to better oneself, to simple escapism.

As for me, I can’t remember a time when I didn’t love to read. I’ve always had a vivid imagination, and I used to act out my favorite scenes in the backyard, much to my grandmother’s chagrin. Eventually, I started inventing my own scenes, but I didn’t write any of them down until after I’d read a few books that really sunk their claws into me.

Early favorites of mine include The Chronicles of Narnia, The Three Musketeers, The Once and Future King, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, and A Conneticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court. See a trend there? Action, adventure, swords, and maybe a few dragons were involved.

When I was in the fourth or fifth grade, I read The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley; to this day, it remains my favorite book. The heroine wasn’t perfect – she was kind of goofy, with red hair that was a legacy of her mother, who was supposedly a witch, and she just couldn’t seem to measure up to the rest of the royal family. *spoiler alert* Still, she managed to slay the dragon, kill the bad guy, and live happily ever after. Suddenly, the scenes I acted out featured red-haired princesses slaying dragons.

Then, something happened, an event so drastic that there was no coming back – I discovered comic books.

The stories! The art! I loved the varied characters, the amazing adventures, the impossibly cool abilities of the impossibly cool characters. I’d always been artistic, but now I was drawing in earnest, imitating artists like John Byrne and Barry Windsor Smith. And, my favorite artist, Wendy Pini. In time, I moved on from drawing established characters to creating my own.

So, what creates literary love? I suspect it’s really just a careful blend of good, timeless stories; exposure to other, varied forms of art; and a few patient librarians. Or, maybe some of us are just born that way. Personally, I’d take a book over a silver spoon any day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Jennifer Allis Provost. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer Allis Provost

I'm Jennifer Allis Provost. I write books about faeries, orcs and elves. Zombies too. My latest release is Copper Ravens, book two of the Copper Legacy, in June 2014 from Spence City Friend me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jennallis Follow me on Twitter: @parthalan http://jenniferallisprovost.blogspot.com/

8 thoughts on “What Creates Literary Love? Heck If I Know.

  1. Agreed – to both the spoon and reading points! My twins (who are two) are currently in a Dr. Suess phase. Fitting, since we live in his hometown.

  2. I hope my kids inherit my love of reading. My daughter read all the Sweet Valley High books and devoured the Hunger Games books, but she hasn’t really read anything since. I’m hoping I can influence her to get back into reading. (She loves to write, though, so I guess that’s cool.) My son has to read a lot for school, but he does have a love for the Naruto comic books as well. 😉

  3. I think parents create literary love (or adults that are important in the life of a child) … When kids see reading every day in a way that’s not “homework”, they become natural readers. In the city where I live, the average book read per person per year is less than one. I work with a local library, and we’ve had to change our tactics from going to the students, instead going to their families. Giving conferences about the importance of reading … ANYTHING … whether it be books, magazines, newspapers … Anyway, I ramble.

Leave a Reply

