Kelly Hashway’s Literary Love

I fell in love with books at a very young age. Nothing could tear me away from them. In fact, my parents would have to take my books away because I’d get eyestrain from reading so much. In elementary and middle school, my parents and I would go to the mall just about every weekend. The first stop was the bookstore. (Remember Walden Books?) I’d grab the latest R.L. Stine book and I’d read while my parents shopped. My mom would have to grab my arm and redirect me so I didn’t walk into walls or other shoppers because my nose would be buried in the book.

R.L. Stine will always hold a special place in my heart because his books shaped my childhood and what I write today. But in my adult life, I discovered a series that pulled on my heartstrings because not only was it paranormal but it was also romance. Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush series stole my heart from the very beginning. Patch and Nora have a love like none other. He’s a fallen angel and she… well, I won’t spoil the series. Let’s just say the odds are against them, yet they fight for each other.

Here’s one of my favorite Patch and Nora moments:
My body seemed to have swept aside the logical part of my brain. Smothered it, in fact. I slid my hands up his chest and looped my arms around his neck. Patch lifted me at the hips, and I wrapped my legs around his waist. My pulse pounded, but I didn’t mind one little bit. I crushed my mouth to his, soaking up the ecstasy of his mouth on mine, his hands on me, feeling on the verge of bursting out of my skinβ€”

Patch and Nora are my favorite book couple. Who’s yours?

18 thoughts on “Kelly Hashway’s Literary Love

  1. I remember Waldenbooks in the mall! One of my favorite couples from fiction is Alexia and Lord Maccom from the Parasol Protectorate series.

  2. Wonderful post. Hmm, favorite book couple… Too many to count. Love R. L. Stine, especially since my little girls are into his books right now. They read the first Slappy story and had to read all the dummy books. Now whatever we have on the shelf.

  3. Haven’t experienced Patch and Nora–sounds like I’m missing out! Hard to say who my favorite couple would be — most recently, I’ve been entranced by Ismae and Gavriel in Roblin LaFevers’ GRAVE MERCY. (sequel coming soon!!)

  4. Well..Hmmm–I have a lot of favorites and I gave a few to the Enchanted Inkpot for a fantasy genre couples post they are doing. But I’m going to list a different one here and give a shout out to Spencer Hill Press’s super author, Jennifer L. Armentrout. She has two power couples and they are both stormy, to say the least–Alexandra and Aidan from SHP’s Covenant series and Daemon and Katie from Entangled Teen’s Lux series. It’s all very yummy and lots of fun!

  5. I’m old school. I am still in love with Jane and Rochester, Scarlett and Rhett, and when your had a father like mine, who insisted on Dash Hammett, I am still big into Nick and Nora Charles – AND I AM NOT THAT OLD. I also have a penchant for lovers who love beyond limits but have to go in different directions, like Dagny Taggart and John Galt, Tom Wingo and Susan Lowenstein. Tough one, Kelly, it’s too hard to have a favorite.

  6. I totally remember WAlden books! I’ve never read, HUSH, HUSH … I’m not much of a romance reader (ducking from flying tomatoes) … That said one of my favorite love stories was THE ROAD by Cormac McCarthy. I know. Weird. But the absolute love that father had for his son, even teaching his son to kill himself if needed, was something that just took my breath away.

Leave a Reply

