The love of story


24140_669I have loved story from as far back as I can remember. I was a very early reader (3 yrs old) and my mother never could say no to me when I wanted a book. She’s a book lover too and she instilled the love of story in me from the very beginning. One of my early memories of being her bed while she read me stories from Wind in the Willows – I loved all the animals and their adventures.

So I figure most people are going to talk about books because well, we’re writers and that’s where stories live, in the pages of books. With that in mind I want to take a slightly different angle and talk about my literary love and how it manifests itself in a different medium….music.

100_2299Now I’m a Texas girl so it’s not really a huge surprise that I’m fond of country music. But I really don’t think it’s the twang or the trucks or the cowboys that works for me though the cowboys don’t hurt… In any case, the primary reason I love country music is because no one can tell a story better in three and a half minutes than a country song. Consider the song “The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia” from the 70’s, it tells a complete story about a murder trial. It’s a fascinating song. Or what about Taylor Swift’s “Teardrops on My Guitar” all about a girl in love with her best friend. Hell, any of Taylor Swift’s songs tell a great story. Say what you will about her dating life, the girl can write a good story and do it with a catchy tune to boot!

You can find good stories outside of country music, it seems all the 70’s rock bands had great story songs, “Hotel California,” “Stairway to Heaven,” and even “Bohemian Rhapsody.” Stories told in a mere moments. Stories that evoke emotions, make you care about what happens to the characters. It’s fascinating, the art of song writing. It’s a skill I greatly admire and envy.

So how about you? Are you a fan of story music or do you just like to groove to your tunes? 

This entry was posted in Characters, Robyn DeHart, song writing, writing by robyndehart. Bookmark the permalink.

About robyndehart

A life-long lover of stories and adventure, it was either become a stuntwoman for the movies or live out those adventures from the safety of her PJ's and computer. Award-winning author, Robyn DeHart chose the latter and couldn't be happier for doing so. Known for her unique plotlines and authentic characters, Robyn is a favorite among readers and reviewers. Publishers' Weekly claims her books as "sizzling romance" while the Chicago Tribune dubs her "wonderfully entertaining." Robyn lives in Texas with her brainy husband, two precocious little girls and two spoiled cats.

9 thoughts on “The love of story

  1. I fancy myself one hell of a literary writer (when I’m asleep of course), but I’ve always said that if I could have the patience to learn, I’d be a songwriter, or some sort of member in a band. Music to me is just as important as books; hell, whenever I sit down to write, it’s a necessity that I have some sort of music playing that reflects the mood of the scene I’m working on. I’ve always loved the 70’s and 80’s and on really late snowy nights, 40’s jazz or even a good Frankie Sinatra tune. But what really gets my musical blood flowing is the instrumental beats. Hans Zimmer, John Williams, Alan Silvestri, Thomas Bergersen…I can’t live a day without listening to one of them. To me, instrumental music almost paints a story moreso than literal lyrics; words give a reader a map, but music and melody offers a landscape to digest 😀

  2. The tradition of stories in music goes back a very long way (think of Homer or the bards), so this does seem like a natural pairing. Even though we don’t need music to help us remember stories now, since we can record the words, I don’t think we’ve ever lost the desire to tell stories through songs.

  3. I LOVE country music. In Colombia, the equivalent are the “rancheras” … You can hear bars piping the music and men sit around tables filled with empty beer bottles (There’s a Tear in my Beer ‘Cause I’m Cryin’ Over Here …) Song is the original story teller and will always be. Thanks for reminding me of that!

  4. I love songs that tell stories and I sure loooove to groove to a tune too. My favorite workout is zumba and half the time I don’t understand what they’re singing. But whenever I do, it makes the dance even more special, or as my 8 year old likes to say…special-er

  5. I’ve always loved music of all kinds, but I think the lyrical ‘story’ that has influenced my life the most is, “Cats In The Cradle”. Because of the ending, I really strive to spend time with my kids, and to never be too busy for them. Especially when things happen, and they smile and say ‘that’s okay’.

Leave a Reply

