Literary Love Poem

A Middle Grade Love Poem                     Photo on 2012-10-01 at 10.42

by Lindsay Eland

I love books

I love them all

From Katherine Patterson

to dear Roald Dahl

The flipping of pages

The creak of spine

The wishful hoping

They all were mine

But above them all,

above the rest

It’s Middle Grade

that I love best

My first true love

was Mr. Dahl

Reading Matilda

started it all

Tale of Desperaux

held my heart

I loved every moment,

every page, every part

A Long Way From Chicago

and A Year Down Yonder

It’s hard to decide

of which I’m more fonder

Then Hope Was Here

by Ms Joan Bauer

But don’t get me started,

I could go on for an hour

The Goose Girl was brilliant

One and Only Ivan divine

So amazing and wonderful

I savored the time

And then Harry Potter

and Walk Two Moons

I gobbled them up

with two silver spoons

And there’s so many more

Too many to name

Yet they all are my true loves

But none is the same

So whether it’s Bauer,

Dicamilllo, or Dahl

I’m in love with books.

I’m in love with them all.

13 thoughts on “Literary Love Poem

  1. Awwww..LINDS!!! People–after 8 YEARS of our critique grouo, sharing our lives and picking each others’ work apart, we FINALLY met just this Friday. Linds–love you so much and now I can imagine you reading this with your adorable expressions. LOVE indeed!

Leave a Reply

