My Life Long Love Affair with Literature

20130203_105053

I think I was two or three here, trying to lounge with my book in my brother’s walker lol

The first Christmas present I remember ever opening was a huge (to me) box of books and tapes.  It is my earliest memory…opening that box, being excited, and lying on my tummy listening to a tape reading Snow White as I flipped through the pictures. I asked my mother about it – I was two 🙂

So began my long love affair with books. I love them. I love getting sucked into the worlds they spin, falling in love with the characters that live within the pages. There is literally no time in my life that I can remember NOT reading. I’ve gone through periods where I have haven’t written (though even that I began at a very early age…I recently found a little “book” I’d written for my brother…I think I was five 😀 ). But never, ever, have I ever stopped reading.

I have an overflowing bookcase in every room of my house and could easily fill more. I also have a fully loaded Nook and recently downloaded the Kindle app for my laptop. But there is something about holding a real book in my hands that just feels like home to me. I love to let the pages fan through my fingers as I read. I love that musty old paper scent that lingers on my hands long after I’ve put the book down. I love how my problems just melt away for awhile as I spend time with characters I’ve grown to love. Or how fun it is to sit down with an encyclopedia or a biography or a good non-fiction on medieval Europe and just soak it all in. My heart seriously starts beating a little faster just thinking about it 😀 691738_children_statue

Reading is like a drug to me, an addiction. I literally cannot get enough. I crave words. I need them. I will never read enough to satisfy my craving and I’ll never be able to write enough to get all these stories out of my head. And that works just fine for me 🙂 Life without literature, in all its forms, would be just….unthinkably sad.

This entry was posted in Michelle McLean, Uncategorized by Michelle McLean. Bookmark the permalink.

About Michelle McLean

Romance and non-fiction author Michelle McLean is a jeans and t-shirt kind of girl who is addicted to chocolate and Goldfish crackers and spent most of her formative years with her nose in a book. She has a B.S. in History, a M.A. in English, and loves her romance with a hearty side of suspenseful mystery. When Michelle's not editing, reading or chasing her kids around, she can usually be found in a quiet corner working on her next book. She resides in PA with her husband and two children, an insanely hyper dog, and three very spoiled cats.

18 thoughts on “My Life Long Love Affair with Literature

  1. Some of my favorite Christmas gifts from my childhood were books too! I remember getting a set of Hardy Boys mysteries when I was seven (even then I wondered why they were the same age in every book) and The Random House Encyclopedia when I was ten or eleven.

  2. We just built a new bookcase here–last spot in the house that will accommodate one without major moving of essential objects. I love having tons of books around–Kindle is great for travel, but not the same on a snowy evening. I like looking at books. I think they warm the place up.

    • They do! Unfortunately, I’ve run out of places to put anymore bookcases. I might be able to squeeze a few in the hallway but they’d make trying to walk past them a little awkward. 😀

  3. Michelle, I’ve a lot of friends that don’t read. Bright people, educated, but brainwashed by celebrity TV and the numb plots of the period soaps that seem to be breeding on every channel here in the UK. And yet, even with cable and a zillion options, I look forward to picking up my kindle or thumbing through my work-in-paperback more than anything.
    is it me?

    • Honestly I really can’t understand people who don’t read. My brother walked in my room once and saw me reading. He shook his head and said he just didn’t understand how I could just lay there reading all day. I said I didn’t understand how he could NOT do that 😀 People who don’t like to read are a species I just can’t wrap my head around 🙂

  4. You know, I’ve really come to love the benefits of having my Kindle to read from. The instant access, the ability to take a bunch of books wherever I go… I must admit that I don’t miss the book in hand as much as I once thought I would. I don’t miss it at all, actually — I just love being able to READ.

    It’s actually amazing — my husband came into reading later, he wasn’t much of a reader when we met — and I think he just hadn’t found his niche of books. But now that he has, he reads more than I do! It’s so much fun to watch someone get sucked into–err, enjoy the world of reading. 😉

  5. Reading is air! I remember when I moved to Colombia and felt so lonely, I read THE BROTHERS K and a few other novels and thought, “Okay. This isn’t so bad here.” 🙂 It’s an addiction!

  6. I’ve always had overflowing bookcases in every room throughout my adult life. Someday, I plan to build a bookcase as spectacular as the one I grew up with. 🙂 Ah, happy memories.

Leave a Reply

