The Djinni Leela’s New Year’s Resolution

Damn, another inadvertent command from my young master.

“You should make a resolution too, Leela. Think of something.” Jered’s expression makes me think of an eager puppy and I both want to please him and slap him.

“You think a Djinni should make a wish?” I allow myself a laugh. I have only one true desire and that’s freedom, but I stopped hoping for a miracle long ago.

“Not exactly. It’s more of something you want to change about yourself.” Jered places his hands on my arms.

Something I wish to change. I’m not certain I like the way my pulse quickens when he touches me. It feels… dangerous. Still, I doubt it’s something I can change even with all my power.

My mind races while I try to find a way out of this puzzle. I have no control of my own, yet I’ve been commanded to select something I can change about myself.

“My clothing,” I say and his brows lift with surprise.

“Your outfit?”

I grin as the material around me shifts into a soft, scarlet silk. “Yes, I believe red suits me better.”

“Leela, I’m not sure you’re getting this.” Jered takes a step back.

I believe it’s he who is not “getting” this. He has much to learn. Perhaps my resolution should be to teach him.

Yes, that would please me very much.

Look for DJINN: THE BINDING STONE this April

Tricked into slavery by the man she loved, the Djinni Leela has an eternity to regret her choices.

Awakened in the prison of her adolescent body, she finds a new master in possession of the opal that binds her. But seventeen-year-old Jered is unlike any she’s seen. His kindness makes Leela yearn to trust again, to allow herself a glimmer of hope.

Could Jered be strong enough to free her from the curse of the Binding Stone?

27 thoughts on “The Djinni Leela’s New Year’s Resolution

  1. “You think a Djinni should make a wish?” Love it. And I really love what we can already tell about the interaction between these two.

Leave a Reply

